These sources are compilations of short biographical sketches of authors. The box below is a collection of biographies of individual authors. Hover your mouse over the icon for a synopsis of or more information about any of the sources listed here.
In addition to these collected sources, you can search the catalog to see if there are books about individual authors. Hover your mouse over the icon for a synopsis of or more information about any of the sources listed here.
Invisible Writer: A Biography of Joyce Carol Oates by Greg JohnsonGranted privileged access to Joyce Carol Oates's letters and journals, as well as extensive interviews with family, friends, colleagues, and Oates herself, Greg Johnson examines the relationship between Oates's life and work in this fascinating exploration of a complex and gifted artist. Johnson reveals little known facts about Oates's personal and family history and debunks many of the myths that have arisen about this brilliant, enigmatic woman.
Call Number: PS3565.A8 Z685 1998
Eudora Welty by Suzanne MarrsIn this definitive and authoritative account, Suzanne Marrs restores Welty's story to human proportions, tracing Welty's life from her roots in Jackson, Mississippi, to her rise to international stature.
Call Number: PS3545 .E6.Z7728 2005
Chinua Achebe: A Biography by Ezenwa-OhaetoEzenwa-Ohaeto's biography is the first comprehensive account of Achebe's life to date. Based on extensive research and numerous interviews, this is also the first work to trace the story of Achebe's life while putting his achievement into a social and historical context.
Call Number: PR9387.9.A3 .Z66 1997
Shirley Jackson: A Rather Haunted Life by Ruth FranklinThis long-awaited biography establishes Shirley Jackson as a towering figure in American literature and revives the life and work of a neglected master. Still known to millions only as the author of "The Lottery," Shirley Jackson (1916-1965) remains curiously absent from the American literary canon. A genius of literary suspense, Jackson plumbed the cultural anxiety of postwar America better than anyone. Now, biographer Ruth Franklin reveals the tumultuous life and inner darkness of the author behind such classics as The Haunting of Hill House and We Have Always Lived in the Castle. Placing Jackson within an American Gothic tradition of Hawthorne and Poe, Franklin demonstrates how her unique contribution to this genre came from her focus on "domestic horror" drawn from an era hostile to women. Based on a wealth of previously undiscovered correspondence and dozens of new interviews, Shirley Jackson, with its exploration of astonishing talent shaped by a damaged childhood and a troubled marriage to literary critic Stanley Hyman, becomes the definitive biography of a generational avatar and an American literary giant.
Call Number: PS3519.A392.Z64 2016
Mockingbird: A Portrait of Harper Lee by Charles J. ShieldsDrawing on six hundred interviews and much new information, Mockingbird is the first book ever written about Harper Lee. Highly entertaining, filled with humor and heart, this is an evocative portrait of a writer, her dream, and the place and people whom she made immortal.
Call Number: PS3562.E353.Z94 2006
Theodor Seuss Geisel by Donald E. PeaseAs Donald E. Pease shows in this marvelous biography, the seemingly haphazard trajectory of Geisel's life bears a close resemblance to the zigzag plot lines of his children's books. Here is an engaging look at a man who indeed lived a zigzag life as a cartoonist, ad agency artist, author, caricaturist, documentary-film writer and producer, political cartoonist, and editor.
Below are a selection of books to help you improve your writing skills. You can find many other books on this topic by searching the catalog (see the Find Books and More page of this guide for help). For citation sources and help, consult the Cite Your Work page of this guide.
A lighthearted primer on the fundamentals of American-language punctuation devotes a series of chapters to each of the major punctuation marks, providing easy-to-follow and accessible advice in a humorous format.
Mastering the ins and outs of writing involves more than just learning the rules of grammar. This text provides readers with principles to ensure their writing is readable, concise, convincing, and grammatically correct.
Provides instruction on the correct manner to compose paragraphs and essays, both in college and the real world. Offers tips on punctuation, grammar, formatting, and word use and features example narratives students can study to improve their own writing skills.
Shares the secrets of powerful writing and explains how to eliminate poor writing habits, enliven tired vocabulary, write effectively for a target audience, and express oneself with greater clarity, harmony, and specificity.
Offers extensive instruction in active and critical reading, practical advice on study and college survival skills, step-by-step strategies for writing and research, detailed coverage of the nine rhetorical patterns of development, and 61 readings that provide strong rhetorical models.
In addition to these collections, you can search the catalog by author or by individual title to find additional literary works.
Provides critical overviews of short stories from all cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the story's cultural and historical significance.
Analysis, context and criticism on commonly studied novels including biographical data, summary, character descriptions, themes, historical and cultural context, critical overview, critical excerpts, and an original critical essay.
A comprehensive and authoritative reference work concerning the "history, theory, technique and criticism of poetry from the earliest times to the present." Entries have included terms and concepts; genres and forms; periods, schools, and movements; the poetry of nations, regions, and languages; and poetry in relation to other cultural forms, disciplines, and social practices such as linguistics, religion, and science.
Critical essays examine representative plays and identify themes and characteristics employed by 198 dramatists, plus 50 more in the supplemental volume. Also includes extensive essays on various aspects of English language drama.
Essays on the whole of American literature from the 1600's to the present. Includes 250 essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, 50 essays on major literary works as well as essays on literary movements, periods, and themes.