Art Resources

A collection of links compiled by Christopher L. C. E. Witcombe, Professor of Art History at Sweet Briar College in Virginia.

The mission of Artcyclopedia, created by John Malyon, is to become the definitive and most effective guide to museum-quality fine art on the Internet.

This site is devoted to the art market worldwide, and includes a magazine with daily news, reviews, and features.

Search current exhibits at more than 1000 museums across the United States.

Explore museum collections and art stories from around the world. This fun and informative platform is constantly being updated with new content.

The site provides a virtual introduction to the museum, which is the largest in the U.S. The site includes a database about the collections, with each work of art represented by an expandable thumbnail view, and basic information about the object.

The gallery provides high quality images of many art pieces, which you can search for by artist or by the title of the work.

The Smithsonian Institution is the world's largest museum complex and research organization composed of 19 museums, 9 research centers, and the National Zoo. You can search the entire web site or browse the "Encyclopedia Smithsonian".

The J. Paul Getty Museum at the Getty Center in Los Angeles houses European paintings, drawings, sculpture, illuminated manuscripts, decorative arts, and photography from its beginnings to the present, gathered internationally.

One of the largest and most influential modern art museums in the world.

The Museum of Fine Arts in Boston, Massachusetts, is the fifth largest museum in the United States. It contains more than 450,000 works of art, making it one of the most comprehensive collections in the Americas.

Former industrial space in the Berkshires now hosts contemporary exhibits, many on a grand scale.

This is the collection of the fine arts museums of San Francisco, the De Young Museum and the Legion of Honor Museum.

The gallery is located on the first floor of Building 28. The Gallery presents approximately six exhibits each year, featuring works by artists of local and national repute, as well as STCC student work. All exhibits are supported by funding from STCC Student Activities and the School of Continuing Ed. The gallery is free and open to the public.

The Springfield Museums, located in the heart of downtown Springfield, Massachusetts, is comprised of five world-class museums; the Michele & Donald D'Amour Museum of Fine Arts., the George Walter Vincent Smith Art Museum, the Springfield Science Museum, the Connecticut Valley Historical Museum and the Museum of Springfield History.

The Atheneum first featured works collected by Daniel Wadsworth and later bolstered its holdings with large bequests from other Hartford notables such as Elizabeth Hart Jarvis Colt and J. Pierpont Morgan. The Wadsworth has a rich tradition of firsts, leading the way in art collecting and embracing new art movements. It was the first American museum to acquire works by Caravaggio, Frederic Church, Salvador Dalí, Joan Miró, Mondrian, Joseph Cornell, and many others.

The Museum includes four floors of exhibition galleries that house the permanent collection; the Cunningham Center for the Study of Prints, Drawings, and Photographs; and changing exhibitions that regularly include a family-friendly resource area.

The Mead holds the art collection of Amherst College, celebrated for its American and European paintings, Mexican ceramics, Tibetan scroll paintings, English paneled room, ancient Assyrian carvings, Russian avant-garde art, West African sculpture and Japanese prints.

The Museum specializes in innovative approaches to teaching with art from across the globe and throughout time.

The mission of The Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art, a non-profit organization in Amherst, Massachusetts, is to inspire a love of art and reading through picture books. A leading advocate in its field, The Carle collects, preserves, presents, and celebrates picture books and picture book illustrations from around the world. In addition to underscoring the cultural, historical, and artistic significance of picture books and their art form, The Carle offers educational programs that provide a foundation for arts integration and literacy.