LibGuides: Art Resources: Databases, Articles, & Images

Accessing the Databases

NEW: All STCC students, faculty, & staff are now automatically registered in the library system!

When accessing the databases from off campus, you will be prompted to sign in.

USERNAME - Students can login with Student ID; Faculty & Staff should login with library barcode.

PASSWORD - Last name in all CAPS

If you are unsuccessful logging in, see libguides.stcc.edu/LoginSupport

Art Research Resources

Use the links and information on this page to find articles through databases, free and open access images, and some of the art-related journals you have access to through the STCC library. Please refer to the Home page of this guide for information on accessing these resources from off campus.

Paul Cézanne, Mont Sainte-Victoire, ca. 1902-06. Oil on canvas. Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York.

Art Research Databases

Visit these databases to find background information, historical context, iconographic and stylistic analysis, interpretation, and criticism about art and art-related topics.

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources, including coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences and the humanities.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text articles to many journals and magazines, including peer-reviewed or scholarly titles. Academic Search Complete includes nearly every area of academic study such as the social sciences, natural science and more.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 350 reference titles, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and atlases in all major subjects. Also, Credo Reference offers a visual map of research using their Concept Map in addition to other tools.
Funk and Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Provides thousands of encyclopedia entries covering a variety of subject areas, including some images and brief biographies.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
The database provides full-text coverage of topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

Featured Art Journals

Art Bulletin
The Art Bulletin publishes leading scholarship in the English language in all aspects of art history as practiced in the academy, museums, and other institutions.
Journal of Visual Art Practice
The Journal of Visual Art Practice (JVAP) is a forum of debate and inquiry for research in art. JVAP is concerned with visual art practice including the social, economic, political and cultural frames within which the formal concerns of art and visual art practice are located. The journal is concerned with research engaged in these disciplines, and with the contested ideas of knowledge formed through that research.
Art History
Art History is an international forum for peer-reviewed scholarship and innovative research. Founded in 1978, the journal publishes essays, critical reviews, and special issues that engage with path-breaking new developments and critical debate in current art-historical practice. Art History covers all kinds of art and visual culture across all time periods and geographical areas.
Art Monthly
The UK’s leading magazine of contemporary visual art looks at the complex and ever-evolving art world through in-depth features, interviews with artists, profiles on emerging artists and coverage of major trends and developments by independent critics.
PSA Journal (Photographic Society of America)
How-to and philosophical articles on all aspects of photography, product reviews, advice and news published by the Photographic Society of America.
Journal of Contemporary Painting
Journal of Contemporary Painting responds to the territory and practice of contemporary painting in its broadest sense, viewing painting as a context for discussion, exploring its sphere of history and influence, rather than as a medium specific debate. The JCP combines a thematic approach with an open call, each issue opening up and problematising pressing concerns in contemporary painting.
Art in America
Also held in STCC Library's 2nd floor print collection, Art in America features articles on major achievements & events throughout the art world, particularly in painting, sculpture, photography and prints.