Community Resources
Information on local and state resources to help individuals, families and veterans in need of housing, food, medical, legal or mental health assistance.
More Parenting Resources
- Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP)
Medicaid and CHIP provide no-cost or low-cost health coverage for eligible children in Massachusetts so that they can get routine check-ups, immunizations and dental care to keep them healthy. They can also get doctor visits, prescription medications and hospital care when they’re sick, and much more.
- Massachusetts Dept. of Children and Families
Strives to protect children from abuse and neglect and, in partnership with families and communities, ensure children are able to grow and thrive in a safe and nurturing environment.
- One Tough Job
From the Massachusetts Children’s Trust Fund, provides current, reliable, and practical information on a variety of parenting topics related to raising children from infancy through adolescence.
- Women, Infants and Children (WIC) Nutrition Program
A free nutrition program that provides healthy foods, nutrition education, breastfeeding support, and referrals to healthcare and other services to Massachusetts families who qualify.
Teens
- Safety Zone Emergency Shelter - Call 414-781-6556Safety Zone Emergency Shelter provides 24-hour, short-term housing for young people, aged 14 to 17, who have left home or are homeless. These temporary youth shelters are located throughout Western Massachusetts.
- Homeless Youth Handbook - Massachusetts
A guide for homeless youth with state specific information about your rights, responsibilities, and resources in every major aspect of your life including housing, work, legal issues and more.
Local Parenting Resources
- Maternity Homeless Youth Shelters - Call 413-737-2679Supervised apartments throughout Hampden County for pregnant and parenting youth up to age 22. In addition to safe housing, provides support services, life skills training, educational guidance, referrals, and aftercare.
- Head Start, Early Head Start and Migrant/Seasonal Head Start
Early childhood programs at no cost to eligible families including Early Head Start (ages prenatal – 2.9), Head Start (ages 2.9 - 5) and Migrant/Seasonal Children (ages prenatal - 5). There are also parenting programs, health & mental health services, nutritional programs & services and healthy relationships programs for adults.
- Healthy Families
A program for young, first-time moms and dads that partners with you to help you tackle parenting challenges, find resources in your community, and know what to expect during pregnancy and parenting your child. Call (413) 858-3119 for more information.
- Springfield Family Resource Center
Provides a number of resources for families in the Springfield community all in one convenient location. Help with navigating through housing, education, courts and legal systems as well as health insurance, EBT and behavioral health services.
- Springfield Parent Academy
91 School Street
Springfield, MA 01108
(413) 787-6959 ext. 49110
Provides FREE learning opportunities for parents and other caring adults on parenting, health and wellness, finances and budgeting, student achievement and personal growth.
Workshops on Zoom available this winter/spring 2022, check dates and times online at: www.springfieldparentacademy.com/
- Springfield Pregnancy Care Center
Free, confidential pregnancy testing, options counseling, and help with a variety of services from a pro-life counseling center.
- Square One
Provides a wide range of family-friendly education and support services including early education and care at Springfield centers, home-based and after school care in addition to parent education, support and training programs.
- Teen Parent Program - Open Pantry
95 Jefferson Avenue
Springfield, MA 01107
Call (413) 731-5960 or email NLussier@openpantry.org
A program of Open Pantry Community Services Inc. is a residential program for teenage parents (age 14-21) and their children who need a safe place to live. Space for 8 families. Provide help with school, daycare, therapy, parenting & life skills. DTA referrals only.
- Thom Infant Toddler Services
Provides pregnancy, newborn support, and early intervention services. Offers home visits that focus on helping pregnant women access pre-natal care and engage in healthy behaviors. After the baby is born, helps new parents to do what's best for their babies' optimal growth and development through the first year.
- YWCA Teen Parenting Program
Residental program for young women ages 13-20 who are pregnant or parenting. Focuses on developing the necessary skills to function effectively.