Community Resources
Information on local and state resources to help individuals, families and veterans in need of housing, food, medical, legal or mental health assistance.
Housing
- The Jorge Oterro Barreto Homeless Veterans Transitional Program52 Maple Court, Springfield, MA. Call the Western Massachusetts Bilingual Outreach Center at 413-731-0194 or Edwin Colon at 413-739-1082.
A two year transitional housing program sober house available for 12 homeless veterans. Includes single rooms, shared common areas, substance abuse counseling, career counseling, DVA services, employment & school referrals and AA/NA in-house meetings.
Veterans Benefits
- e-Vets Resource Advisor
Information and links to Benefits and Compensation, Education and Training, Employment, Family and Caregiver Support, Health, Homeless Assistance, Housing, Transportation and Travel plus Other Services and Resources Information and Resources Specific to your state. - VA.gov e-Benefits
Apply for and manage disability, healthcare, pension, education, vocational rehab and employment benefits. - Veteran's Employment and Training Services
Serve America's veterans and separating service members by preparing them for meaningful careers, providing employment resources and expertise, and protecting their employment rights.
Veterans Resources
Veterans Crisis Line 24/7/365
1-800-273-8255, Press 1
Text 838255 for support, 24 / 7 / 365
Anonymous, Confidential Online Chat: www.veteranscrisisline.net
Connects Veterans in crisis and their families and friends with qualified, caring Department of Veterans Affairs responders through a confidential toll-free hotline, online chat, or text. Support for deaf and hard of hearing individuals is available.
- Bilingual Veterans Outreach Centers of Mass
281 Franklin St., Springfield, MA, (413) 731-0194
Provides assistance in applying for veterans benefits as well as providing clothing, referrals for housing, employment, and MassHealth, legal assistance, and counseling services for veterans and their families, including drug and alcohol counseling. A Homeless Veterans Transitional Program assists veterans in the transition into mainstream society.
- Massachusetts Dept. of Veterans' Services
Information on benefits, housing, education, employment and training, healthcare, other support services and advocacy issues including emergency financial assistance for those veterans and their dependents who are in need.
Call 617-210-5480, Open Monday through Friday, 8:45 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
- MassHire Veteran Services
STCC Technology Park, 1 Federal Street, Bldg. 103-3, Springfield, MA 01105, (413) 858-2800
Hours: M-T,F 8:30 am-4:30 pm, W. 8:30 am-7:00 pm, Th 8:30-3:00 pm
Assists with Veteran's employment and training services including a disabled Veteran's Outreach Program.
- National Association for Black Veterans - Springfield Chapter
878 State Street Springfield, MA 01109
(413) 209-9000
Mon, Tue, Thur, Fri: 10 a.m. – 5 p.m., Wed: 10 a.m. - Noon
Facebook: @nabvetsspringfield
nabvetschapter102@comcast.net
Provides referral information to veterans for social needs such as housing, food, transportation, employment, education, clothing, and assistance with filing claims. Also provides peer-to-peer counseling and computer training.
- National Call Center for Homeless Veterans
1-877-4AID VET (1-877-424-3838) 24/7
Free and confidential. Trained VA counselors will assist you in obtaining information about VA homeless programs, health care and other services in your area.
- Springfield Dept. of Veteran Services
36 Court Street, Room 101
Springfield, MA 01103
Call 3-1-1 or (413) 736-3111
Mon – Fri: 9 a.m. – 4 p.m. (Walk-ins welcome!)
Information and assistance to veterans and their dependents on employment benefits, vocational or educational opportunities, hospitalization, medical care, pensions and other benefits.
- Springfield Partners for Community Action
721 State Street, 2nd floor, Springfield, MA, 413-263-6500
Mon - Fri: 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Connects veterans and their families to the community through outreach, assistance in filing disability claims, accessing veteran's benefits (including educational benefits) and referrals for services.
- Springfield Vet Center
95 Ashley Avenue, Suite A, West Springfield, MA, 1089, (413) 737-5167
Individual and group counseling for Veterans, service members, and their families for military related issues, bereavement (grief), military sexual trauma, community outreach and education, substance abuse assessment and referral, employment referral and referral of other VA services. Free and confidential.
- Stateside Legal
‘One stop’ shopping for veterans, servicemembers and the general public looking to understand the complex systems of laws and benefits unique to those with military service. Also provides a national directory (searchable by state or zip code) of free and low-cost legal service providers, state agencies, law school clinics and other resources that can help enforce legal rights and benefits.
- VA Outpatient Clinic
25 Bond St. Springfield, MA 01104, (413) 731-6000, Mon - Fri: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Medical and mental health pre-care and after-care for veterans. Offers initial and ongoing care and treatment for patients whose clinical needs are met primarily by outpatient services. Call or come in person to schedule an appointment.
- Veterans Inc.The largest one-stop veterans housing, outreach, and supportive services program in New England. Provides services to veterans, servicemembers, and their families including housing, employment and training, case management, food security, health and wellness, family support programs, women, and child care services. Apply for services on their website or call 800-482-2565 (24/7).