Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources (OER)

Information and resources on Open Educational Resources (OER) available to faculty & students free of cost.

Search for OER

Mason OER Metafinder

This new search tool created by George Mason University and Deep Web Technologies aggregates resources from 15 different OER sites, offering a "one-stop searchbox for Open and Affordable Educational Resources."

Search Mason OER Metafinder

Other OER Search Engines:

FREE: Federal Resources for Educational Excellence 
A site maintained by the federal government that "contains links to learning resources created and maintained by other public and private organizations."

Google University Learning 
Google's custom search for collected OER websites.

Internet Archive - Open Education Resources 
The Internet Archive's "library of Open Educational Resources and university lectures, " which "contains hundreds of free courses, video lectures, and supplemental materials from universities in the United States and China."

MERLOT: Multimedia Educational Resources for Learning and Online Teaching 
"A free and open peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials and faculty-developed services contributed and used by an international education community."

OER Commons - Advanced Search 
An advanced search function within OER Commons that allows users to find open access materials/resources.

OER Courses & Curricula

Courses & Curricula

Carnegie Melon Open Learning Initiative 
The site "offers online courses to anyone who wants to learn or teach." Instructors may use courses for their own credit granting courses.

MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) 
MIT OCW allows anyone free online access to the teaching materials of over 2,200 course in almost all of MIT's subjects.

Open Education Consortium 
A collection of over 25,000 OCWs from different institutions made available to instructors to be copied, distributed, edited, remixed, and/or built upon under the Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License.

Open Course Library 
"A collection of high quality, free-to-use courses that you can download and use for teaching. All content is stored in Google docs making it easy to access, browse and download."

Open Yale Courses 
"Open Yale Courses provides free and open access to a selection of introductory courses taught by distinguished teachers and scholars at Yale University."

Saylor Academy 
A website of open courses that can be reused and remixed for teaching purposes with attribution.