Open Educational Resources (OER)

Information and resources on Open Educational Resources (OER) available to faculty & students free of cost.

Subject Specific OERs

General

Art Images for Teaching College
A free exchange of over 2,000 images for educational use.

Google Advanced Image Search
The advanced search allows one to search for only images available for reuse.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art
The Met's collection of digital images of artwork available for scholarly and academic publication are identified with an icon.

Smarthistory
A collection of videos and essays about art history.

General

Dictionary of Canadian Biography
Persons of Canadian heritage or of importance to Canadian history who died between 1000 and 1930.

JURN Directory
Links to over 3,000 selected arts & humanities ejournals that provide free content.

OAPEN Library
Academic books in the areas of humanities and social sciences.

Open Humanities Press
Leading works of contemporary critical thought & theory. Electronic books, journals, and labs in the humanities available for free use.

Project Gutenberg
46,000 free ebook that includes classic, American, and British literature among other topics in the humanities.

English Writing & Literature

Excelsior Online Writing Lab
This OWL contains over 700 pages of information on writing and research and includes games and learning activities. Create your own (free) "OWLet" and use only the pages that are relevant to you and your students.

Wright American Fiction
2,887 volumes of 19th-century American fiction, as complied by librarian Lyle Wright in his book American Fiction, 1851-1875.

Open Anthology of Earlier American Literature
An open textbook of American Literature to 1899.

Poetry Foundation
Links to poems, information about poets, links to audio and podcasts about poetry.

Languages

AD900
Archive of 20th-century Italian literature.

Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes
Digitized Spanish-language historical text and languages from the Ibero-American world.

Bayerische Staatsbibliothek Digital Collections
Digitized manuscripts, reference books, source editions and collections, and magazines from the Bavarian State Library.

Gallica
Electronic texts, images, animations, and sound documents pertaining to the 19th-century French experience curated by the Bibliotheque nationale de France.

Persée
French journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Philosophy

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Philosophy-specific online reference source kept up-to-date by experts in the field.

Philosophy News
Free podcasts about current topics in philosophy

DATA.GOV
Datasets that are generated and help by the U.S. Government. Find Federnal, state, and local data, tools, and resources. Includes geospatial data.

UNdata
United Nation's statistical database.

World Bank Data Catalog
World Bank datasets, including databases, preformatted tables, reports, and other resources.

General

InTech Open
Science, technology and medicine open access book publisher. Covers: physical science, engineering, and technology; life sciences; health sciences; and social sciences

BioMed Central
Articles from 272 peer-reviewed open access journals focusing on biomedicine.

Public Library of Science (PLoS)
Research and information in science and medicine.

PubMed Central
Full text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal articles from the U.S. National Institute of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Johns Hopkins Bloombery School of Public Health Open Courseware Initiative
A collection of open public health courses and course materials.

Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)
A collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education.

General

Europeana
Digitized collections from libraries, archives, and museums across Europe.

Internet Library of Early Journals
A digital library of six specially selected 18th and 19th century journals. Journals include Gentlemen's Magazine, The Annual Register, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, Notes and Queries, The Builder, and Blackwood's Edinburg Magazine.

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Information on more than 35,000 slave voyages that took place between the 16th and 19th centuries.

Stanford History Education Group
A collection of U.S. and world history course materials including assessments and learning activities.

American History

The American Civil War
A list of primary source resources from newspapers, to maps, to diaries and letters covering the American Civil War (1861-1865), compiled by Susan Birkenseer for the Association of College and Research Libraries.

American Memory
Written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience from the Library of Congress collection and other institutions.

California Digital Newspaper Project
Depository of digitized California newspaper from 1846-present.

Chronicling America
A searchable database of historic American newspapers which includes information on U.S. papers dating as far back as 1690 and digital copies of select newspages from 1836-1922.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Photographs, manuscripts, books, moving images and more from libraries, archives, and museums from around the U.S.

Historical Newspapers Online, U.S.A
A listing of digitized historical U.S. newspapers.

Making of America (MoA)
Primary sources in American social history from the Antebellum period through Reconstruction. Subject areas include education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, science, and technology.

Medieval & Renaissance Studies

Digital Scriptorium
Database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts.

The Labyrinth
Resources in medieval studies.

Classics

Perseus Digital Library
Greek and Roman materials covering the history, literature, and culture of the ancient world.

General 

ACS Central Science and ACS Omega
Two open access journals from the leading science research publisher ACS Publications.

arXiv
More than 340,000 e-prints from in Mathematics, Statistics, Computer Science, Physics, Quantitative Biology, and Quantative Finance.

Encyclopedia of Earth
A free, expert-reviewed electronic reference source "about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society."

InTech
A multidisciplinary open access publisher of books covering the field of science, technology, and medicine.

Public Library of Science (PLoS)
Research and information in science and medicine.

Bay College Online Math
A series of video tutorials for basic and introductory level math.

Biology & Life Science

Biodiversity Heritage Library
Literature on biodiversity.

Darwin Online
The complete works of Charles Darwin published and freely available online.

eLife
Research published in the life sciences and biomedicine.

Encyclopedia of Life
Information and images of all species known to science.

General

The Levantine Review
An ejournal that publishes scholarship on the histories, cultures, religions, politics, and the intellectual, philological, and literary traditions of the contemporary Levant and Near East.

OAPEN Library
Academic books in the areas of humanities and social sciences.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Papers and the newest research in social science.

Economics

Research Papers in Economics (RePEc)
A database of working papers, journal articles, books, book chapters, and software components in economics and related fields.

Political Science

Federal Digital System
Official publications from all three branches of the U.S. Government.

Psychology

NOBA Project
A collection of psychology texts and materials which often include an instructor's manual, PowerPoint presentations, and test banks.

 

CORA, the Community of Open Research Assignments
CORA is on online, open-access platform of librarian and faculty contributed assignments, lesson plans, and activities that engage with information literacy concepts and practices.

The Information Literacy User's Guide
An open, online textbook from Open SUNY

Choosing & Using Sources: A Guide to Academic Research
Published by Ohio State University Libraries

Web Literacy for Student Fact Checkers
By Mike Caulfield, Washington State University Vancouver
 

 

Loading ...