Skip to main content

The Research Process

Types of Articles from Periodicals

Magazines and journals are called periodicals because they are issued on a regular or "periodic" basis – they might arrive daily, weekly, monthly, four times a year (quarterly), once a year (annually) or anything in between. Periodicals are usually separated into two major groups: popular and scholarly.

 Use popular magazines when you need:

  • information or opinions about popular culture
  • up-to-date information about current events
  • general articles by people who are not necessarily specialists about the topic

Use scholarly journals (also called academic or scientific journals) when you need:

  • original, primary research on a specific topic
  • articles and essays written by scholars or subject experts
  • factual, documented information to reinforce a position
  • bibliographies that point you to other relevant research  

Use a newspaper to:

  • find current information about international, national and local events
  • find editorials, commentaries, expert or popular opinions

  For more information on periodicals, check out this cool tutorial from IRIS.

Databases at STCC

Databases by Subject  |  Databases A to Z

 

To access the databases, click one of the links above. If you know the name of the database you would like to use, choose Databases A to Z. If you are unsure of what database to use for your research, click Databases by Subject and then narrow down your choices by the subject your research falls under.

Using Library Resources From Off Campus

undefined

What is a Database?

A database in general is a collection of information organized to be searched by computer. On the STCC Library Web site, our electronic databases are collections of articles or in-depth reports that you can retrieve through your Internet connection.

The library has subscriptions to both general databases (example: EbscoHost Academic Search Premier) or subject specific databases (example, U.S. History in Context). These databases usually provide full-text access to journal articles. If you want to be sure to retrieve only full-text articles, be sure to click on the "full-text" option on your search screen.

Video courtesy of Yavapai College.