U. S. History

The Lyman and Merrie Wood Museum of Springfield History is known for its local history research facilities, its comprehensive program of changing exhibitions, its diverse educational offerings, and it’s wide ranging collections illuminating the history of the Connecticut River Valley.

Springfield Armory National Historic Site commemorates the critical role of the nation’s first armory by preserving and interpreting the world's largest historic US military small arms collection, along with historic archives, buildings, and landscapes

From the Library of Congress, primary sources and exhibition guides to LC collections on African American history. Includes links to Library of Congress collections, audio files, videos, text and images.

The project provides educational access to the literature and history of the antislavery movement in the United States. This literature "encompasses slave narratives, lectures, travel accounts, political tracts, prose fiction, poetry, drama, religious and philosophical literature, compendia, journals, manifestoes and children's literature".

The King Center serves as the premier resource dedicated to educatiing ... (and)... working collectively using the philosophy and methods of nonviolence to create the Beloved Community that Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. envisioned. This digital storehouse brings the works and papers of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. to a digital generation.

This web site on African American history, developed by Professor Quintard Taylor, includes an online encyclopedia, biographies, and primary sources including speeches and photographs.

Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves.

The site presents a searchable database of digitized versions of rare and unique library and archival resources on race relations in Mississippi, including oral histories, manuscripts and photographs.

Abstracted data on individual slaves, slaveholders and free people of color...but NOT full text.

The site chronicles thirteen African-American migrations from the transatlantic slave trade to from contemporary influxes of migrants from Africa and the Caribbean.

The site includes a chronological journey through Malcolm X's life, featuring readings, analysis and multimedia concerning each period of his life and a collection of digital media about Malcolm X.

A chronological list of many events that shaped black history and links to Web sites with more information about these events and the people involved.

History of the African American experience in Boston and Nantucket.

A program of American Radio Works on the "Freedom Summer" of 1964.

A collection of links to Web sites on African American nurses in history.

The Web site, exploring segregation from the end of the Civil War to the onset of the Civil Rights Movement, uses interactive features that enable visitors to learn about the history of "Jim Crow" in the United States and those who fought against it.

Slavery and Abolition in the US: Select Publications of the 1800s is a digital collection of books and pamphlets that demonstrate the varying ideas and beliefs about slavery in the United States as expressed by Americans throughout the nineteenth century.

The National Museum of African American History and Culture is the only national museum devoted exclusively to the documentation of African American life, history, and culture.

The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress.

The site presents a searchable database of digitized versions of rare and unique library and archival resources on race relations in Mississippi, including oral histories, manuscripts and photographs.