LibGuides: U. S. History: Articles and Videos from Databases

Using Library Resources From Off Campus

Find Articles

The following databases may be useful to you to find articles about U. S. history:

Gale in Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in United States history. Full of full-text magazines, academic journals, primary source documents, images, videos and audio files.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text articles to many journals and magazines, including peer-reviewed or scholarly titles. Academic Search Complete includes nearly every area of academic study such as the social sciences, natural science and more.
Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Combines biographies of more than 380,000 people with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, images, and links to selected websites.
American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
Biographies of more than 17,000 deceased Americans. It includes articles about men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation. There are hyperlinked cross-references and links to selected web sites.

Newspaper Resources

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Use this link to search the full text of The New York Times (starting in 1995).
Boston Globe This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles from the Boston Globe newspaper from 1980 forward.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides full text for national and international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, and The Washington Post, plus selective full text for many regional newspapers, as well as radio and television transcripts.
Newsbank 1992 to Current This link opens in a new window
Search current and archived newspaper and newswire coverage of issues, events, people, government, sports and more with the largest collection of full-text U.S. newspapers. NewsBank also offers access to 10 local newspapers throughout the 4 Western Massachusetts counties.

Video Content

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Watch thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases. Kanopy’s viewing platform makes it easy to watch, share and discuss films across our campus and at your own convenience.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of educational films in dozens of academic disciplines.

How to search using keywords

When searching in databases, you generally cannot search effectively by typing in a question or sentence, but rather it is most effective to search using essential concepts, or "keywords". The following short video can help you identify keywords for your research topic:

Keyword Search
From the Online Library Learning Center from the University System of Georgia.

More about keywords

Keywords are the main ideas or concepts of your topic question. Keep a list of these words because you will use them when searching for information on your topic. You will also want to come up with related terms in order to expand your searching.

Example topic question: Does playing violent video games lead to violent behavior in adolescents?

Keywords

video games

violent behavior

adolescents

Related terms

media violence

popular culture

psychological aspects

social aspects

youth

teenagers

When searching, string your keywords together with “and” rather than entering the entire research question. Mix and match terms depending on results.

Example: media violence and social aspects and adolescents

U. S. History

Access databases from off campus

PASSWORD - Last name in all CAPS

Contact a librarian