LibGuides: Poetry: Journals & Databases

Journals

The library subscribes to many journals devoted to scholarship about poetry, and a small sampling of these is listed below. The databases also listed on this page allow you to search through the contents of these journals (and many others), but browsing through an individual journal gives you the opportunity for more focused research.

Poetry: A Magazine of Verse
A peer-reviewed journal of poetry, commentary, news, notes, and lists of recently published books published by the Poetry Foundation.
The American Poetry Review
Contemporary poetry, fiction, social commentary, opinion, translations and reviews for a general audience.
Poets & Writers
The bimonthly magazine publishes essays on the literary life, profiles of contemporary authors, and the most comprehensive listing of literary grants and awards, deadlines, and prize winners available in print.
Alif: Journal of Comparative Poetics
A peer-reviewed journal that presents articles from different traditions and languages that confront and complement each other.
Victorian Poetry
Peer-reviewed essays, criticism and reviews, and thematic issues, on aspects of poetry from the Victorian era.

Literary Databases

Use these databases to find scholarly sources of information about poetry and poets.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text articles to many journals and magazines, including peer-reviewed or scholarly titles. Academic Search Complete includes nearly every area of academic study such as the social sciences, natural science and more.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 350 reference titles, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and atlases in all major subjects. Also, Credo Reference offers a visual map of research using their Concept Map in addition to other tools.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources, including coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences and the humanities.
Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Combines biographies of more than 380,000 people with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, images, and links to selected websites.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for up-to-date literary analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers and their works in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
The database provides full-text coverage of topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.