Skip to main content

The Research Process

Current Events Databases

These databases have special types of reports or articles that may be helpful for papers on topics related to current events and social issues.

 

Issues & Controversies

Use this database for access to single topic reports on controversies in the news.  The reports include background information, explanations of opposing points of view, and factual analysis of current events and issues.

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints includes thousands of articles on today's hottest, often controversial, social issues. A key component of this database are the pro/con "viewpoint essays". These short articles present an opinion on an issue, and other essays can be found that present the opposing side of that issue. The database also contains articles from magazines, academic journals, reference books, newspapers and editorials, as well as primary source documents, statistics, pictures, photographs, transcripts from news programs (radio & TV), and websites.

Biographical Databases

Biography in Context (InfoTrac). The database includes reference resources, brief biographies, and magazine and journal articles about the life and accomplishments of famous figures worldwide. You can browse by category of person and search based on occupation, nationality, and birth year.

 

American National Biography. Use this database to get information about the life and work of a variety of accomplished individuals. To be included in this database the individual must have "influenced and shaped American history and culture" and also must be deceased.

Magazine Databases

Here is a list of databases that focus on articles from popular and general interest magazines.

MasterFile Premier

This multidisciplinary database provides full text to periodicals including general reference, news, business, health, education and general science. It includes book reviews, full text reference books, primary sources and images.

General OneFile

Includes news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, the environment, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science and general interest.

   

 

 

Health Databases

Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCOHost). This collection of consumer health information provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health, with access to consumer health magazines. See box below for a demonstration about searching in EBSCOHost databases.

Health and Wellness Resource Center (InfoTrac). Access to nearly 400 full-text health and medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, and more than 700 health-related videos. This database includes articles from many general interest publications.

Social Science Databases

The following databases may be useful to you for your research about law enforcement and criminal justice (remember to use alternative search terms!).

Military and Government Collection (Ebscohost). Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content, with full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.

 

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (Ebscohost). This database provides nearly 575 full text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Scholarly Databases

These databases offer scholarly articles from peer-reviewed journals from a variety of fields.


Academic Search Premier 

This multi-disciplinary database provides abstracts and full text articles to many journals and magazines, including peer-reviewed or scholarly titles. Academic Search Premier includes nearly every area of academic study such as the social sciences, natural science and more.

Academic OneFile

A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources, including coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences and the humanities.

Expanded Academic ASAP

This database includes abstracts and full text articles from scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers from across all academic disciplines from arts and the humanities to social sciences, sciences, and technology.