Nursing Research Guide

Written especially for nurses caring for patients with cancer, this Handbook uniquely expresses drug therapy in terms of the nursing process: nursing diagnoses, etiologies of toxicities, and key points for nursing assessment, intervention, and evaluation. This essential reference provides valuable information on effective symptom management, patient education, and chemotherapy administration. Completely revised and updated, the Handbook includes separate chapters on molecular and immunologic/biologic targeted therapies. These chapters provide fundamental reviews to assist nurses in understanding the cellular communication pathways disrupted by cancer. It also offers simplified content, attention to understanding the immune checkpoint inhibitors, new information about immunotherapy, new drugs and their indications, and updated indications and side effects for drugs recently approved by the FDA.

This well-developed book delivers expert guidance for the common conditions seen in adult-gerontology acute care practice. The first book of its kind, this evidence-based resource provides nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and other advanced practice providers with the clinical knowledge they need to effectively practice adult-gerontology acute care. In quick-reference format, this system-based text describes more than 90 common conditions health providers are likely to see in their acute care practice.

Be prepared to meet the growing demand for licensed practical/vocational nurses with the knowledge and skills to provide quality care to older adults. Easy-to-understand writing and a positive outlook enliven every page of this popular resource. Step by step, you'll master the knowledge and skills you need, while also honing the leadership, management, and delegation abilities essential to your professional success. Feel confident in an important area as this text considers common myths about aging and includes applicable case studies to prepare you for a future career working with older adults.

Nursing students' access to higher education does not mark the beginning of basic scientific research into this discipline, and it is now a struggle for this fact to remain visible. Prejudices, misrepresentations and myths mislead nurses about the origins of nursing knowledge. Discipline of Nursing allows us to compare significant nursing figures: Florence Nightingale (Great Britain) and her equally valuable counterpart Valérie de Gasparin-Boissier (Switzerland). The two distinct training models proposed by these illustrious women have retained their relevance into the 21st Century since as early as 1859. The discipline of nursing seems to be arranged in almost geological layers of knowledge that we can distinguish by studying the traditions of nursing language. This book aims to provide a better understanding of the nature of services provided by nurses worldwide.

This critical-thinking blueprint for the triage nurse delivers essential knowledge for accurate decision-making in emergency triage situations. Formatted to provide easily accessible and retrievable information, the manual facilitates rapid recognition and understanding of acuity levels and their application to patient care. The newly updated second edition reflects current health conditions and scenarios in EDs, urgent care centers, offices, and first aid centers, both domestic and international. It contains important new information on program development, training, and quality management along with useful tips and tools.

This is a concise, pocket-sized resource for students and practicing nurses alike that delivers the fundamentals of evidence-based practice (EBP) and basic nursing research concepts in an easy-to-read, quick-access format. It demystifies the research process with straightforward information. The third edition is updated to deliver the most current information on research methods, database upgrades, and new resources. The reference serves as a succinct companion for students in EBP courses and provides practicing nurses with a resource for developing EBP on their units. It equips bedside nurses with fundamental concepts and explains basic research terms and how to conduct literature searches to "find the evidence."

This newly updated, quick-access guide for critical care nurses covers the most common admitting diagnoses and reviews their causes, signs and symptoms, and interventions. Critical care nursing requires astute assessment, adept communication, and the ability to multitask, as well as a high degree of adaptability. In the ICU, patient status and plan of care change constantly, presenting multifaceted problems for nurses and healthcare providers. This authoritative resource, with bulleted, bite-sized content, provides information to the busy ICU nurse in a heartbeat.

Freshly updated with the newest evidence-based techniques and protocols, this practical clinical resource distills the fundamentals of wound care for novice nurses and nurses new to wound care. This guide walks through the common, complex and atypical wounds nurses see and includes abundant full-color images. Chapters have been thoroughly revised and now contain critical updates in technological advances in wound care, dramatic changes in documentation and new Medicare and reimbursement guidelines.

This pocket-sized reference book is a condensed version Ackley's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook, 12th Edition that helps you diagnose and formulate care plans with confidence and ease. Using a quick-access format, it includes the 2018-20 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses based on more than 1,300 specific symptoms and a step-by-step guide to creating care plans, featuring desired outcomes, interventions, and patient teaching. Includes care plans for every NANDA-I approved nursing diagnosis, including pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, safety, and client/family teaching and discharge planning interventions.

This concise, pocket-sized study tool and clinical reference presents 85 key nursing skills in a convenient, A-to-Z format. Step-by-step instructions include full-color photos plus rationales explaining why and how to use specific techniques to help you troubleshoot potential problems and take appropriate actions to address them. With the latest in evidence-based practice this essential guide is a great tool to help you safely and effectively perform core nursing skills. Clear, two-column format shows you how to perform skills, with rationales for each step explaining the reason behind the practice and the benefit to patients.

Here's the step-by-step guidance you need to develop individualized plans of care while also honing your critical-thinking and analytical skills. It includes about 160 care plans in all, covering acute, community, and home-care settings across the life span. Including: Client assessment database for each medical condition; Complete listings of nursing diagnoses organized by priorit; Diagnostic studies with explanations of the reason for the test and what the results mean; Actions and interventions with comprehensive rationales; NANDA, NIC, and NOC's most recent guidelines and terminology; Evidence-based citations Index of nursing diagnoses and their associated disorders

Be prepared for the rapidly changing world of nursing. The thoroughly revised and updated 8th Edition of this popular text examines the important issues and trends shaping the nursing profession today. Explore the evolution and history of nursing and examine the impact of healthcare reform and the legal system as they apply to nursing practice.

People should be cared for in a safe environment that is protected from internal and external harm. This quick reference guide covers vital practical skills for nurses including: Emergency management and resuscitation;The safe and accurate administration of medicines; Infection control; The anatomy and physiology of skin and temperature regulation; Personal care; Wound care. This competency-based text covers relevant key concepts, anatomy and physiology, lifespan matters, assessment and nursing skills.

The only nursing research and theory book with primary works by the original theorists! Noted nursing scholars explore the historical and contemporary theories that are the foundation of nursing practice today. The 5th Edition continues to meet the needs of today's students with an expanded focus on the middle range theories and practice models that link theory to clinical practice. You'll explore the role of these theories in the real-world to see how they guide nursing practice.

This handbook will guide the reader systematically through the care of patients with a wide range of cardiac problems. Each chapter contains the up to date evidence-based guidelines for cardiac conditions and treatments. It now includes new topics such as stroke, genetics, computed tomography coronary angiogram. Valvular heart disease has been expanded, as well as the chapter on congenital heart disease and inherited cardiac conditions. Providing key summaries of common problems and essential issues, it will provide both an invaluable reference for cardiac nurses, as well as a precise, targeted guide for nurses from other specialties caring for patients with cardiac problems.

Fully updated, this is the essential guide to caring for patients in primary care and in community settings. Concise and comprehensive, the book provides the reader with both evidence-based clinical knowledge as well as the organizational structure of community health services. Chapters range from common adult and pediatric health problems, to more specific targeted advice for service users with extra needs and people with long-term conditions.

Respiratory conditions are managed in many different settings, from home and residential care through the full range of primary to tertiary care. The multifaceted nature of both diseases affecting respiration and the care options is comprehensively covered. Offering a systematic description of the main respiratory diseases found in adults, the Handbook covers the assessment, diagnosis, and nursing management of each condition. With a special focus on the role of the multidisciplinary team in meeting the multiple care needs of respiratory patients, including physical and psychosocial concerns, and both pharmacological and non-pharmacological therapies, the Oxford Handbook of Respiratory Nursing is a unique and invaluable companion for all healthcare professionals working within the specialty.

The aging population has only grown since the first edition of this comprehensive and seminal publication nearly 20 years ago. Based on the need to humanize rather than medicalize the illness experience for patients, this text delves into palliative care beyond the specific diseases affecting the patient. Instead, content focuses on the whole person and family. Palliative patients struggle with chronic, debilitating, and painful conditions, and grapple with the fact that life as they knew it has already passed away. Families and friends reciprocally suffer, not knowing how to help and therefore become the secondary victims of the disease. Palliative and hospice care requires the expertise and unique roles of an inter-professional team to help the patient and family strengthen their resilience, continue to find meaning and purpose in life, and cure what can be cured.

This pocket-sized, quick reference is sure to become your #1 pediatric resource. You'll find all of the information you need to deliver safe, effective care for children based on their age, size, developmental level, and unique pathologies.

Nursing is the largest U.S. healthcare profession with nearly 4 million registered nurses (RNs) nationwide, and is projected to grow at a much faster rate than the average for all occupations. Principles of Health: Nursing explores this vitally important profession from several angles, including: The history of nursing, with profiles of well-known and influential persons in the field, like Florence Nightingale, Elizabeth Blackwell, and Clara Barton, as well as of professional organizations; Various nursing disciplines, including pediatrics, home care, anesthesiology, end-of-life care, critical care, cardiology, among others; Specific nursing settings, such as emergency rooms, intensive care units, neonatal units, assisted living facilities, hospice, and more. Essays are comprehensive and accessible to high school students, undergraduates, and general readers interested in the profession of nursing.

This is a patient-centered, traditional approach to the topic of nursing education. An ideal text for teaching students how to transition from the classroom to practice, it focuses on the core competencies for health professionals as determined by the Institute of Medicine (IOM). Completely updated and revised, the Fourth Edition includes coverage of the opioid crisis, Progress Report (2016) for the Future of Nursing Report, Triple Aim, quality improvement and workflow efficacy to name a few. Also featured is content on nursing roles, incivility, expanded roles and scope of practice, patient-centered care, and team-based learning.

This authoritative classic remains the only text to provide a wide range of essential information for nurses who work in sparsely populated and vulnerable geographical areas. Focusing on rural nursing concepts, theory, research, education, public health, and healthcare delivery from a national and international perspective, the sixth edition is distinguished by its emphasis on practical applications. With ten completely new chapters and substantial revisions, it disseminates the skills and knowledge required for effective nursing practice, education, and research regarding the evolving rural and frontier setting. The effect and spread of the coronavirus on nonmetropolitan areas is covered throughout the text.

This drug guide is specifically designed for advanced practice nurses to accurately treat and prescribe for their patients across their lifespan, from obstetrics to gerontology. Comprehensive and convenient, this invaluable resource includes the hundred most common prescription drugs for midwives and nurse practitioners in an easy-to-reference format. Along with key information about each drug, details about the drug's use during pregnancy and lactation are included, as well as adolescent and elder use.