LibGuides: Arts, Literature & Biography Databases: Research Tools

Accessing the Databases

When accessing the databases from off campus, you will be prompted to sign in.

USERNAME - Students can login with Student ID; Faculty & Staff should login with library barcode.

PASSWORD - Last name in all CAPS

If you are unsuccessful logging in, see libguides.stcc.edu/LoginSupport

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for up-to-date literary analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers and their works in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.

____________________

**View a helpful video on using Literature Resource Center .

American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
Biographies of more than 17,000 deceased Americans. It includes articles about men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation. There are hyperlinked cross-references and links to selected web sites.

Salem Literature This link opens in a new window
Critical Insights - A series that distills the best of both classic and current literary criticism of the world’s most-studied literature. Each volume in the series focuses on an individual author’s entire body of work or on a single work of literature.
Critical Surveys - A series that offer extensive profiles of the major writers within a particular genre as well as sections devoted to elements such as genre overviews, award winners, and time lines.
Masterplots 4th Edition - Analyzes the most important works in all genres.

______________________

**View a helpful video on using Salem Literature.

Profile: Literary Reference Center
Literary Reference Center (EBSCO) is a full-text literary database covering all genres and timeframes including synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems.

______________________

**View a helpful video on using EBSCO Literary Reference Center.

Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Combines biographies of more than 380,000 people with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, images, and links to selected websites.

Literary Reference eBook Collection
This eBook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of literary-related subjects. Selections include literary criticism, study guides, and classics such as Emma, Dracula, and Frankenstein