Skip to Main Content

Dictionaries & Encyclopedia Databases: Research Tools

Accessing the Databases

NEW: All STCC students, faculty, & staff are now automatically registered in the library system!

When accessing the databases from off campus, you will be prompted to sign in.

USERNAME - Students can login with Student ID; Faculty & Staff should login with library barcode.

PASSWORD - Last name in all CAPS

If you are unsuccessful logging in, see libguides.stcc.edu/LoginSupport

Credo Reference

Credo Reference
Access to more than 350 reference titles, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and atlases in all major subjects. Also, Credo Reference offers a visual map of research using their Concept Map in addition to other tools.

Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia

Funk and Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
Provides thousands of encyclopedia entries covering a variety of subject areas, including some images and brief biographies.

Encyclopedia Britannica

Encyclopedia Britannica Library Suite
Multi-level encyclopedia for all patrons. Includes dictionary, thesaurus, videos, images, primary sources, e-books, world atlas, and more.
English and Spanish Versions

Combined Searching

Worldcat
WorldCat lets you search the bibliographic records for books and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide.

Your Dictionary

YourDictionary
YourDictionary is more than a dictionary. It's a comprehensive reference site with synonyms, sentence examples, quotes, biographies, and an amazing collection of grammar-related articles and education resources for students, teachers, parents and homeschoolers.