LibGuides: Graphic Arts, Communication, & Design: Journals, Articles, and Databases

Bulldog

Moriz Jung, Bulldog, 1912. Color lithograph. Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York.

Poodle

Moriz Jung, Poodle, 1912. Color lithograph. Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York.

Using Library Resources From Off Campus

Accessing the Databases

NEW: All STCC students, faculty, & staff are now automatically registered in the library system!

When accessing the databases from off campus, you will be prompted to sign in.

USERNAME - Students can login with Student ID; Faculty & Staff should login with library barcode.

PASSWORD - Last name in all CAPS

If you are unsuccessful logging in, see libguides.stcc.edu/LoginSupport

Art Research Databases

Visit these databases to find background information, articles about practice and technique, interpretation, and criticism about graphic arts, design, and related topics.

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources, including coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences and the humanities.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text articles to many journals and magazines, including peer-reviewed or scholarly titles. Academic Search Complete includes nearly every area of academic study such as the social sciences, natural science and more.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text to journals, magazines and peer-reviewed titles. BSP covers disciplines of business including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 350 reference titles, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and atlases in all major subjects. Also, Credo Reference offers a visual map of research using their Concept Map in addition to other tools.
Funk and Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Provides thousands of encyclopedia entries covering a variety of subject areas, including some images and brief biographies.

Featured Art Journals

Graphic Arts Monthly
Feature articles, business profiles, interviews, product reviews and news of note for managers in the printing industry.
Eye: The International Review of Graphic Designs
Eye, the international review of graphic
design, is a quarterly printed magazine about
graphic design and visual culture
Journal of Visual Art Practice
The Journal of Visual Art Practice (JVAP) is a forum of debate and inquiry for research in art. JVAP is concerned with visual art practice including the social, economic, political and cultural frames within which the formal concerns of art and visual art practice are located. The journal is concerned with research engaged in these disciplines, and with the contested ideas of knowledge formed through that research.
Art Monthly
The UK’s leading magazine of contemporary visual art looks at the complex and ever-evolving art world through in-depth features, interviews with artists, profiles on emerging artists and coverage of major trends and developments by independent critics.
Art in America
Also held in STCC Library's 2nd floor print collection, Art in America features articles on major achievements & events throughout the art world, particularly in painting, sculpture, photography and prints.