ART 150 - Introduction to Photography

The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.

From the Library of Congress.

New York City Municipal Archives Online Gallery of over 870,000 images. Selected from the world-class historical collections of the Archives, most of these unique photographs, maps, motion picture and audio recordings are being made accessible for the first time.

Thousands of images.

Over 200 large albumen prints from the 1860s and 1870s of American Western landscape. The locations and photographers include mammoth views of Yosemite Valley by Carleton E. Watkins and Charles L. Weed, the route of the Union Pacific Railroad through the Rocky Mountains by A.J. Russell, the Geographical surveys west of the one hundredth meridian (the Wheeler survey) by Timothy O'Sullivan and William Bell, and a collection of mammoth views by William Henry Jackson.

More than 4,500 digitally restored railroad pictures to see – thousands of pages of transcontinental railroad history!

Digital Special Collections of the American Museum of Natural History’s Research Library provides access to our rich collections of digitized archival photographic images, art and memorabilia images and Rare Book Collection illustrations. Use the tabs above to view Collections and Exhibits, or choose Browse to see all the images digitized to date. Enter terms in the box above to search across all our images or choose the Advanced Search option.

A resource for anything and everything related to the history of stereoview photography in Yellowstone National Park.

Carleton E. Watkins (1829-1916) was one of the most highly acclaimed of early western photographers, yet Watkins's work has never been fully cataloged. No complete listings of his "Old Series" stereoviews, published before 1875, are known. This site brings together complete collections of Watkins's photographs.

Create and share 3D images from the stereograph collections of The New York Public Library.

In 1941 the National Park Service commissioned noted photographer Ansel Adams to create a photo mural for the Department of the Interior Building in Washington, DC. The theme was to be nature as exemplified and protected in the U.S. National Parks. The project was halted because of World War II and never resumed.

The photographs in the Farm Security Administration - Office of War Information Photograph Collection form an extensive pictorial record of American life between 1935 and 1944. This U.S. government photography project was headed for most of its existence by Roy E. Stryker, who guided the effort in a succession of government agencies: the Resettlement Administration (1935-1937), the Farm Security Administration (1937-1942), and the Office of War Information (1942-1944). The collection also includes photographs acquired from other governmental and non-governmental sources, including the News Bureau at the Offices of Emergency Management (OEM), various branches of the military, and industrial corporations.