Skip to main content

Career Resources

Career and Vocational Exploration Resources

Search Everything!

Discovery is our library's version of Google.   It searches all the STCC Library's research databases for scholarly articles covering all disciplines.  Search any topic by keyword, and not by question.   Example: "gun control."

Books

Career Databases

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
Provides detailed profiles of more than 3,300 jobs and 94 industries, invaluable advice on career skills, more than 48,000 resource entries, and much more.

Vocations & Careers Collection
Content from nearly 400 journals on career and vocational guidance.

Career Cruising
Career Cruising is a web-based career guidance system designed to help students choose and plan for a career. This database offers a way for students to determine their educational and career objectives based on their abilities and interests. Career Cruising does this by including self-assessment tools and up-to-date information about post-secondary schools, scholarships and financial aid, and effective job searching, along with advice on how to keep a job.

MassHire Career Center
Housed in the STCC Technology Park, MassHire Springfield Career Center provides services and resources to help you find a job or brush up on your on the job skills. MassHire holds workshops on computers, resume building and interview techniques. The center also provides access to computers, fax machines, copiers and more.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
The OOH can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.