Literature Research - ENG 102 - English Comp 2 (Jongbloed) - LibGuides at Springfield Technical Community College

Introduction

Welcome Professor Jongbloed's students!

This guide contains STCC Library online resources to help students with literary research. Other pages in this guide are organized around particular works of literature. These pages offer a more general introduction. Use the databases and other links below to find information such as literary criticism, author biographies, and more.

For off-campus access to our databases, enter your 7 digit student ID number as your username, and your last name ALL IN CAPS as your password.

>Help with accessing library resources.

If you have any questions, please call the Reference Desk at 413-755-4549 or email stcclibrary@stcc.edu.

MLA Citation Guide
Updated 2019-2020 MLA Citation Guide produced by the STCC Library.

Literature Databases

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for up-to-date literary analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers and their works in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.
Salem Literature This link opens in a new window
Critical Insights - A series that distills the best of both classic and current literary criticism of the world’s most-studied literature. Each volume in the series focuses on an individual author’s entire body of work or on a single work of literature.
Critical Surveys - A series that offer extensive profiles of the major writers within a particular genre as well as sections devoted to elements such as genre overviews, award winners, and time lines.
Masterplots 4th Edition - Analyzes the most important works in all genres.

Biographical Information

American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
Biographies of more than 17,000 deceased Americans. It includes articles about men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation. There are hyperlinked cross-references and links to selected web sites.
Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Combines biographies of more than 380,000 people with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, images, and links to selected websites.
Gale in Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in United States history. Full of full-text magazines, academic journals, primary source documents, images, videos and audio files.

ENG 102 - English Comp 2 (Jongbloed)

Introduction

Literature Databases

Biographical Information

Literature Research Videos