Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Arts and Literature Databases: Databases

Accessing the Databases

NEW: All STCC students, faculty, & staff are now automatically registered in the library system! 

When accessing the databases from off campus, you will be prompted to sign in.

USERNAME  Students can login with Student ID;  Faculty & Staff should login with library barcode.
PASSWORD - Last name in all CAPS

If you are unsuccessful logging in, see libguides.stcc.edu/LoginSupport

Literature Resource Center by Gale

A comprehensive resource dedicated to Literary Criticism, biographical information, and more than 850,000 articles about authors and their works.

**View a helpful video on using Literature Resource Center.

Salem Literature

Salem Literature Logo and Link

Critical Insights - A series that distills the best of both classic and current literary criticism of the world’s most-studied literature. Each volume in the series focuses on an individual author’s entire body of work or on a single work of literature.
Critical Surveys - A series that offer extensive profiles of the major writers within a particular genre as well as sections devoted to elements such as genre overviews, award winners, and time lines.
Masterplots 4th Edition - Analyzes the most important works in all genres.

**View a helpful video on using Salem Literature.

Literary Reference Center by EBSCO

EBSCO Literary Reference Center Logo and Link

Literary Reference Center by EBSCO (NEW) is a full-text literary database covering all genres and timeframes including synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems

Literary Reference eBook Collection

Literary Reference eBook Collection Logo and Link

The Literary Reference eBook Collection (NEW) offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of literary-related subjects. Selections include literary criticism, study guides, and classics such as Emma, Dracula, and Frankenstein