LibGuides: Business Databases: Research Tools

Accessing the Databases

NEW: All STCC students, faculty, & staff are now automatically registered in the library system!

When accessing the databases from off campus, you will be prompted to sign in.

USERNAME - Students can login with Student ID; Faculty & Staff should login with library barcode.

PASSWORD - Last name in all CAPS

If you are unsuccessful logging in, see libguides.stcc.edu/LoginSupport

Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete
With premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, this database covers all disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and over 17,500 company profiles.

**View a helpful video on using Business Source Complete.

Regional Business News

Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search over 40 newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.

Gale OneFile: Business

Gale OneFile: Business This link opens in a new window
Perform in-depth research on management issues, economic indicators and business theories and practices, as well as on the activities of companies and industries worldwide. Instant access to academic and business journals with full text and images.

Small Business Source

Small Business Source
Small Business Source offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics.

Gale OneFile: Vocational and Careers

Gale OneFile: Vocations and Careers This link opens in a new window
Includes hundreds of journals and magazines from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals to aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed profiles of more than 3,300 jobs and 94 industries, invaluable advice on career skills, more than 48,000 resource entries, and much more.

**View a helpful video on using Ferguson's Career Guidance Center.

O*NET OnLine

O*NET OnLine Career Database
O*NET OnLine was created by the U.S. Department of Labor to provide information on skills, abilities, knowledges, work activities, and interests associated with over 900 occupations.
O*NET is a unique, powerful source for continually updated occupational information and labor market research.

U.S. Census Data

U.S. Census Data is an online source for accessing population, housing, economic and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau. Data available include: Decennial Census of Housing and Population - 2000 and 2010 Results from each of these data programs are provided in the form of data sets, tables, thematic maps, and reference maps.

Find North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes from the Census Bureau here.

MassHire

MassHire formerly FutureWorks, is housed in the STCC Technology Park and provides services and resources to help you find a job or brush up on your on job skills. MassHire holds workshops on computers, resume building and interview techniques. The center also provides access to computers, fax machines, copiers and more.

Business Databases: Research Tools