LibGuides: Biology: Databases & Journals

Biology & Science Journals

Follow the link below to find biology-related journals and magazines available online through the STCC Library.

Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Contextual information on hundreds of contemporary science topics and how they relate to real-world issues. Combines reference content with full-text magazine articles, journals, news articles, images, videos and even experiments.
Science Database (ProQuest)
ProQuest Science Database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences with coverage dating back to 1986
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text articles to many journals and magazines, including peer-reviewed or scholarly titles. Academic Search Complete includes nearly every area of academic study such as the social sciences, natural science and more.

Watch this video to learn about the benefits of using library databases for research over searching the web.

Use keywords, terms, or short phrases, instead of full sentences or questions.
Quotation marks can be used to keep words next to each other. For example, "energy drinks" instead of energy drinks
To limit your search and see fewer articles, use the word AND to connect your keywords.
- Example: diabetes AND obesity AND diet
To broaden your search and see more articles, use the word OR to connect your keywords.
- Example: influenza OR flu OR H1N1
Limit to Full Text to only see articles that you can download/save/print immediately.
If we do not have an article available in our library, we may be able to order it from another library. Fill out this form to make a request.