Skip to Main Content

Nursing and Allied Health Databases: Research Tools

Accessing the Databases

NEW: All STCC students, faculty, & staff are now automatically registered in the library system!

When accessing the databases from off campus, you will be prompted to sign in.

USERNAME - Students can login with Student ID; Faculty & Staff should login with library barcode.

PASSWORD - Last name in all CAPS

If you are unsuccessful logging in, see libguides.stcc.edu/LoginSupport

Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic

Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic This link opens in a new window
Designed for doctors, research scientist, students and clinical specialists, this database provides full text for journals in various areas pertaining to medical study, including clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, and the health care system.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
This collection of consumer health information provides access to magazines and reference books covering a wide variety of subjects, including specific diseases as well as topics such as fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health and more.

Medline

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (created by the National Library of Medicine) provides information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and more. Search many journal articles, some with linked full text.

CINAHL with Full Text

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to nursing and allied health journals. The database includes such disciplines as physical therapy, occupational therapy, consumer health, and alternative therapies.

**View a helpful video: Introduction to CINHAL Complete

Health Source: Nursing Edition

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to scholarly full text journals covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more. It also features AHFS Drug Information, which covers generic drug patient education sheets with many brand names.

MedlinePlus

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's website for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you reliable, up-to-date information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Designed for nursing and allied health students with up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. Includes more than 2,500 full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.

PubMed Central

PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

PubMed

PubMed This link opens in a new window
The authoritative index to medical and allied health content. Some full text is available.

Europe PMC

Europe PMC
European version of PubMed Central - provides comprehensive access to life sciences literature from trusted sources. You can search and read 45.6 million publications, preprints and other documents enriched with links to supporting data, reviews, protocols, and other relevant resources.

Dentistry and Oral Health Sciences

Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source This link opens in a new window
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source is the definitive full-text research database for dental practitioners and researchers.
It offers top dental and oral sciences journals commonly purchased by dental schools and related institutions.

Nursing and Allied Health

Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes nearly 6 million articles on nursing and other health fields to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management..

Gale Health and Wellness

Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. This comprehensive consumer health resource covers a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices