Skip to Main Content

Social Science Databases: Research Tools

Accessing the Databases

NEW: All STCC students, faculty, & staff are now automatically registered in the library system!

When accessing the databases from off campus, you will be prompted to sign in.

USERNAME - Students can login with Student ID; Faculty & Staff should login with library barcode.

PASSWORD - Last name in all CAPS

If you are unsuccessful logging in, see libguides.stcc.edu/LoginSupport

Gale OneFile: US History

US History (Gale OneFile)
An engaging experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history.

Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies

Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile)
Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
An excellent (and extensive) collection of materials on the African diaspora. The Schomburg web site offers online exhibits, manuscript finding aids, and more.

Library of Congress Digital Collections

Library of Congress Digital Collections are free and open access and contain written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music from their vast holdings.

Gale OneFile: World History

World History (Gale OneFile)
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers.

Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism

War and Terrorism (Gale OneFile)
Provides researchers accessing the more than 1.7 million articles on the causes of war and the impacts of terrorism on a global scale.

Military & Government Collection

Military & Government Collection
A collection of full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government. It is designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers.

Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence

Military and Intelligence (Gale OneFile)
Provides scholarly, peer-reviewed content covering current and historical military intelligence and strategy.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
A comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods with particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling. Includes full text articles.

Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile)
Comprehensive periodical content for researchers studying law, law enforcement, forensic science, terrorism, and more.

Social Work Reference Center

Social Work Reference Center
Social Work Reference Center is an information resource for social workers and mental health professionals. It covers a wide array of topics such as adolescent health, aging, end-of-life care, clinical social work and diversity

Gale OneFile: Gender Studies

Gender Studies (Gale OneFile)
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

Gale OneFile: Psychology

Psychology (Gale OneFile)
Provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology.

Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy

Religion & Philosophy
The database provides full-text coverage of topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Over 1,600 entries designed so that each one is maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public.

Jewish Virtual Library

Jewish Virtual Library
Open Access online resource providing information about Jewish history, Israel, U.S.-Israel relations, the Holocaust, anti-Semitism and Judaism, and current affairs, through articles and images.

A comprehensive online Jewish encyclopedia, covering everything from anti-Semitism to Zionism with more than 13,000 articles and 6,000 photographs and maps.