LibGuides: Education Databases: Research Tools

Accessing the Databases

NEW: All STCC students, faculty, & staff are now automatically registered in the library system!

When accessing the databases from off campus, you will be prompted to sign in.

USERNAME - Students can login with Student ID; Faculty & Staff should login with library barcode.

PASSWORD - Last name in all CAPS

If you are unsuccessful logging in, see libguides.stcc.edu/LoginSupport

ERIC

ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) provides access to education literature and resources from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.

Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia

Funk and Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Provides thousands of encyclopedia entries covering a variety of subject areas, including some images and brief biographies.

Teacher Reference Center

Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Encyclopedia Britannica

Encyclopedia Britannica Library Suite
Multi-level encyclopedia for all patrons. Includes dictionary, thesaurus, videos, images, primary sources, e-books, world atlas, and more.
English and Spanish Versions

Chronicle of Higher Education

(FEATURED) Online version of the Chronicle is a source of news, information, and job listings for college and university faculty members and administrators.

**Support accessing this resource.

Gale in Context: Elementary

Gale in Context: Elementary This link opens in a new window
This database was developed for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a colorful, image-filled interface and explores a broad range of topics such as animals, arts, music, social studies, geography, literature and more.

Primary Search

Primary Search This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of more than 100 popular children's magazines for elementary school research, with abstracts for others. Magazines include Cricket, Highlights for Children, Hopscotch, Jack & Jill, Ladybug, Ranger Rick, Science World and Spider. Also includes easy-to-read encyclopedic entries and a vast image collection.

Gale OneFile: High School Edition

Gale OneFile: High School Edition This link opens in a new window
Designed for high-school students and provides access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, and reference books on a range of topics from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies.