Skip to main content

Nursing and Allied Health Databases: Databases

Accessing the Databases

When accessing the databases from home or off campus, you will be prompted to sign in.

When prompted to sign in:

Library Card # - the barcode number on the back of your RamCard

Password - hold the SHIFT key and enter your last name

If you have trouble signing in, you may need to register your RamCard at the STCC Library's Circulation Desk.

CINAHL with Full Text

Provides full text to nursing and allied health journals. The database includes such disciplines as physical therapy, occupational therapy, consumer health, and alternative therapies.

Medline

MEDLINE (created by the National Library of Medicine) provides information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and more. Search many journal articles, some with linked full text.

Health and Wellness Resource Center

Access to nearly 400 full-text health and medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, and more than 700 health-related videos.

Health Source: Nursing Edition

This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features AHFS Drug Information, which covers generic drug patient education sheets with many brand names.

Health Reference Center Academic

Provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a variety of personal health information sources. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

This collection of consumer health information provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health, with access to consumer health magazines.

Magill's Medical Guide

Online version of the popular medical encyclopedia. It is intended for broad informational and educational purposes only.

Medcom Nursing Collection

Dozens of Nursing and Allied Health videos, ranging in subject from Anatomy and Physiology to Wound Care. The videos contain online post tests, suitable for Continuing Education credits.

Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic

Designed for doctors, research scientist, students and clinical specialists, this database provides full text for journals in various areas pertaining to medical study, including clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, and the health care system.

Nursing and Allied Health

Includes nearly 6 million articles on nursing and other health fields.

PubMed

THE index to medical and allied health content. Some full text is available. Ask for help the first time you use PUBMED, as the search interface can be difficult to navigate.

MedlinePlus

A consumer health resource put together by the U.S. National Library Medicine and National Institutes for Health. MedlinePlus provides consumer friendly searches for health topics and questions. Also connects users to to authoritative information from the NLM.

AMA Manual of Style

AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors is an online style guide by the editors of Journal of the American Medical Association, and published by Oxford University Press. The AMA format is widely used for citing sources in scholarly publications for medical research. First published in 1962, and currently in its tenth edition, the AMA Manual of Style covers a wide range of topics for authors and editors in medicine and related health fields. This online edition also has updates (style points that have changed since the last print edition), a blog, monthly tips from the editors, quizzes, and an SI unit conversion calculator.