Skip to main content

Education: Databases

Accessing the Databases

When accessing the databases from home or off campus, you will be prompted to sign in.

When prompted to sign in:

Library Card # - the barcode number on the back of your RamCard

Password - hold the SHIFT key and enter your last name

If you have trouble signing in, you may need to register your RamCard at the STCC Library's Circulation Desk.

ERIC

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.

Professional Development Collection

Designed for educators, this database provides a specialized collection of education journals with many peer-reviewed titles. Examples are Booklist, Curriculum Administrator, Education and Education Digest. It also contains educational reports.

Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia

Provides thousands of encyclopedia entries covering a variety of subject areas, including some images and brief biographies.

Educator's Reference Complete

Educator's Reference Complete is a selection of full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Included content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.

Kids InfoBits

Kids InfoBits is a database developed for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a colorful, image-filled interface, and covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

MAS Ultra School Edition

Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for popular, high school magazines. It also includes full text reference books, as well as biographies, primary source documents and images.

Student Edition

This periodical database is designed for high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health and more.

Teacher Reference Center

Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Primary Search

Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research, with abstracts for others. Magazines include Cricket, Highlights for Children, Hopscotch, Jack & Jill, Ladybug, Ranger Rick, Science World and Spider.  Includes content from EBSCO Animals.

Chronicle of Higher Education

Online version of this source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. It includes daily news and advice columns; articles published since September 1989; discussion forums.