Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

2021/2022 Newsletter: *NEW* Issue #1 (Fall 21)

STCC LIBRARY NEWS
FALL 2021  |  ISSUE #1


Table of Contents

IN THIS ISSUE

WELCOME BACK TO THE LIBRARY

RESOURCE SPOTLIGHT: HOW-TO VIDEO LIBRARY

MEET OUR NEWEST TEAM MEMBER

FEATURED EBOOKS

RESOURCE SPOTLIGHT: HOW TO VIDEO COLLECTION

RESOURCE SPOTLIGHT: HOW TO VIDEO LIBRARY
By Dan Paquette, Systems and eResources Librarian

We are pleased to debut the new STCC Library How to Video Guide featuring key collections of helpful "How-to” videos.  While you can still access any of the fifty plus librarian-created videos on our YouTube Channel,  the new "How to" Video Guide makes it easy to locate short effective instructional videos that describe ways to access and search relevant library resources and databases. 

 

The new "How to" video guide is organized by theme, like How to Get Started, How to Search the Databases, Find an ebook, Cite resources, etc.  Additionally, relevant databases are linked in the guide along with the videos for a one stop experience where you find a starting point, learn how to search the database, and then access the resource in one easy to use guide.   

All videos have been created and produced by librarians for the STCC community and new & updated videos are always being developed. Access this guide by clicking the View our 'How to' Guide” link on the library’s homepage (stcc.edu/library) or visit libguides.stcc.edu/HowToVideo.

If you have any questions about library resources, or have an idea for a video you’d like to see, email the librarians at stcclibrary@stcc.edu or visit us at the Reference Desk in the Library on the Second Floor of Building 19. Happy Researching!

E-BOOK HIGHLIGHTS

HIGHLIGHTS FROM THE EBSCO EBOOKS COMMUNITY COLLEGE COLLECTION

By Marko Packard, Reference & Collection Development Librarian

WELCOME BACK

WELCOME BACK TO THE STCC LIBRARY
By Chelsea Contrada, OER & Outreach Librarian

We in the library are excited to be back on campus offering in-person services to the STCC community. We are, however, exercising caution to keep everyone safe. This requires some changes to our policies and practices. The following information outlines the services, resources, and accommodations offered by the STCC Library this semester. If you have any questions, please email stcclibrary@stcc.edu.

Library Hours:

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Wednesday: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Friday: 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Saturday: Virtual Services from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Library Access:

- Masks are mandatory in the library and all other indoor campus areas
- Public computer access with social distancing accommodations

- Printing and copying

- Study space with social distancing accommodations

- No third floor access or private study rooms

Circulation Services:

- In-person check-in/check-out
- Full circulating collection

- Resource sharing via inter library loans

- Reserve materials

- Chromebooks & WiFi Hotspot Waiting List: https://libguides.stcc.edu/Tech2GoFAQ/fall2021

Reference Services:

- In-person reference services at the reference desk
- Virtual reference help via email, phone, chat, or text

- Online resources available 24/7

- Collection of video tutorials: https://libguides.stcc.edu/HowToVideo

- Virtual library instruction

MEET BELYMER

MEET BELYMER, OUR NEWEST TEAM  MEMBER
By Chelsea Contrada, OER & Outreach Librarian

We are excited to introduce you to our newest team member, Belymer "Bely" Cruz. Bely is taking over the position of Access Services Assistant. She has been kind enough to share some information about herself so that you can get to know her better. Be sure to stop by the circulation desk and say hello to Bely the next time you are in the library!

Where are you from?

I was born in Ponce, P.R. and lived there until I was 2 years old, going on 3. We moved to Springfield, MA in 1999 and have been here since.

Education background

I attended Elms College from 2014-2018 where I obtained a bachelor's of science degree in Liberal Arts and Social Sciences. I currently attend Simmons College where I am working to complete my master's degree in Library and Information Science: Information Science & Technology.

Where did you work before coming to STCC?

My library work experience began at Elms College as a work-study student in the Circulation department. Shortly after graduating the Elms and enrolling in library school, I was awarded a part-time position as Evening Circulation Supervisor. After almost 2 years as the Evening Circulation Supervisor, I took on the role of Interim Head of Circulation and Inter Library Loan. I was in the role for 9 months before taking my new position here at STCC.

What are you looking forward to at STCC?

I am looking forward to being able to grow in the library field, learn new things, and apply all that I have learned in library school. I am also looking forward to being able to build better relationships and connections on the campus outside of my role. I have taken interest in a few of the many organizations/clubs the college has and would like to branch outside of my comfort zone and become a part of the ones that I feel matter most to me.

What are your hobbies/interests?

I don't have many hobbies aside from chasing after my very active 2 year old. I would say that my favorite things to do are watching movies or series, going on walks, family outings and shopping.

FACULTY SERVICES

FACULTY SERVICES AT THE STCC LIBRARY
by Eric Warren, Coordinator of Reference & Instruction

Image by Alexandra_Koch from Pixabay

As we begin a new academic year, the library wants to take this opportunity to update STCC Faculty on ways we can assist you and your students this semester.

Here are a few ways your students can find success using the library:

Research!

We have dozens of research Databases available for your students including these and many more! 

  • For argumentative or persuasive projects - Our Opposing Viewpoints database is a great place to start. It has full-text articles, pro- and con approaches to issues, and a suite of multimedia resources.
  • If your students need business research or analysis, Business Source Premier has articles from leading business publications.
  • For Nursing and Allied Health research - CINAHL Complete the definitive research tool for academic research in Nursing and Allied Health fields

All of these titles (and more) can be found on the Databases section of our home page. 

Research Guides!

Our Research Guides are the first stop for your students to discover books, articles, websites and other resources. They can also find help with APA or MLA citation style and resources for specific papers, presentations, and projects.

We can also build a custom Research Guide for a class or assignment that includes links to databases, articles, TED Talks, videos, or anything else you think appropriate. These can be embedded in your Blackboard course. 

Visit our Faculty Resources page for more information.

Read / Watch / Learn!

Our eBooks Collection provides unlimited access to 60,000+ multidisciplinary titles from top publishers geared for the community college student.

Our ‘How to’ Video Collection has dozens of short videos on research, formatting paper and other topics. We can help your students log in remotely, learn how to navigate our website, look for eBooks, or do an advanced Google search. Want a virtual library instruction session to introduce your students to library resources? Contact us!

Need a custom video for your class? We can create one for you!

Get Help!


A picture containing logo

Description automatically generated

Contact us at ChatNow! during the Library’s open hours: 

Mon., Tue., Thur. 8 a.m. – 5 p.m., Wed. 8 a.m. - 6 p.m., Fri. 8 a.m. – 4 p.m. and Sat. 10 a.m. – 2 p.m (virtual services only)


Icon

Description automatically generated

Email us at stcclibrary@stcc.edu for research help and other questions. 


Speaker phone with solid fill

Call our campus number: 413-755-4549 or call/text our Google voice number during office hours: 413-200-8429

Appointments are available with a helpful librarian. Just ask!