LibGuides: 2020/2021 Newsletter: Issue #7

IN THIS ISSUE

RESOURCE SPOTLIGHT: RESEARCH TOPIC STARTER

POETRY RESOURCES

PRO TIP FOR CHROMEBOOK USERS: APPSTREAM

WAYS TO CONTACT THE LIBRARY

Resource Spotlight: Research Topic Starter

RESOURCE SPOTLIGHT: RESEARCH TOPIC STARTER
By Dot Moore, Reference Librarian

Need to write a research paper for a class on a current topic but aren’t sure how to get started? The STCC Library can help! Our Research Topic Starters guide is the perfect place to begin. The home page includes links to databases and research organizations that cover a wide range of current issues and trends that can provide ideas and inspiration for choosing a topic.

Or choose one of our topics. We have selected some timely popular issues and added high quality, curated content to get you started on your research. We’ve included key resources with background information, journal articles, websites, ebooks, statistics and more, as well as definitions and search terms to help you explore the selected topic.

Examples of some topics in this guide include:

Gun control
Marijuana
Depression, post-partum depression and psychological disorders
e-Cigarettes and vaping
Systemic racism
And 6 other hot topics!

The Research Topic Starter Guide can be found on the library’s homepage under Popular Resources, or visit https://libguides.stcc.edu/ResearchStarter. If you need help using the library's resources, want some research tips, or have suggestions for topics to include in this guide, please contact us at stcclibrary@stcc.edu or call/text (413) 200-8429.

APPSTREAM

A PRO TIP FOR CHROMEBOOK USERS: APPSTREAM

By Dan Paquette, Systems Librarian

Attention Chromebook users! There is a resource available to STCC students (for free) that greatly expands the capacity of your Chromebook.

All students have access to AppStream, an Amazon service that allows a Chromebook to connect with a Windows Virtual Desktop, enabling use of Windows software and browsers from your off campus Chromebook.

The AppStream virtual desktop allows students to use Microsoft products like Word, Excel, PowerPoint and Access from a Chromebook.

It can also help with Cengage/MindTap. Sometimes Cengage resources like MindTap can present problems when used on a Chromebook. Using AppStream virtual desktop, you'll log into a campus desktop computer remotely. From there you'll be able to use MindTap, Word, and other programs as if you were on a full Windows computer - all from your off-campus Chromebook!

This is an amazing and free resource for students that greatly enhances a Chromebook's computing power!

Access information: Appstream Documentation

More Chromebook support resources: libguides.stcc.edu/Tech2GoFAQ

Dan Paquette, Systems Librarian: djpaquette@stcc.edu

CONTACTING THE LIBRARY

WAYS TO CONTACT THE LIBRARY
By Emily Butler, Reference Librarian

Need help from the library? Just ask! There are a variety of ways you can contact the library remotely, including email, phone, text, or live chat. Regardless of how you contact us, someone will respond to your query during the library's hours of operation.

Reference Department

If you have a question about accessing the library's databases, conducting research, or citing sources, please contact the reference department. You can call or text 413-200-8429, or email us at stcclibrary@stcc.edu. Alternatively, you can chat with us by visiting our website and clicking the "Chat Now" button. You can find more information about using the chat feature by visiting our website: https://libguides.stcc.edu, or give us a call. We will be happy to walk you through the process.

Circulation Department

If you have a question about checking out or returning materials, or a question regarding your library account, please contact our circulation department. You can leave a voicemail for circulation by calling 413-755-4532, or by emailing library_circ@stcc.edu.

General Assistance

If you are unsure which department to contact, that's okay! You are welcome to email a librarian through the address stcclibrary@stcc.edu, or contact us via Chat Now, and your question will be directed to the appropriate department or individual. Thank you for adjusting to these new modes of communication. We look forward to staying connected with students and the STCC community through remote avenues.

POETRY RESOURCES

POETRY RESOURCES

By Emily Butler, Reference Librarian

April is the 25th annual celebration of National Poetry Month! The STCC Library has tons of resources for people who want to read, listen to, analyze, or write poetry. First, we have our Poetry resource guide, with links to relevant websites, databases, articles, and more.

The Library’s eBook collection features thousands of books related to poetry, whether you want to read a collection of poems by a single poet, an anthology of poems by different authors, or critical analysis of poetry. Our literature databases can help you to contextualize poets and poetry. These databases house not only excerpts of poems, but biographies of poets, book reviews, news articles, and multimedia resources.

Poetry has a long oral tradition. In fact, spoken poetry predates the written word! Check out the Library’s film databases- Films on Demand, and Kanopy- to watch footage of poets performing their work aloud.

Below you will find a list of selected eBooks which you can read right now! To find more or look for a specific book, search the Library’s eBook collection.

Looking Out, Looking In: An Anthology of Latino Poetry by William Luis (Editor)
ISBN: 9781558857612
Publication Date: 2013-05-31
The poems included in this comprehensive anthology run the gamut of styles and themes, but all are by Latinos writing from the mid- twentieth century to the present. Some deal with issues specific to the Hispanic experience, such as displacement, identity and language. Others ponder universal concerns, such as love, family and humanity. In "Letter to Arturo," Mexican-American poet Lucha Corpi pens a song of love to her son: "You've hardly left / and already I miss the light / caress of your hands / on my hair, / and your laughter and your tears, / and all your questions / about seas, / moons and deserts. / And all my poems / are tying themselves together / in my throat."More than 60 Latino poets are represented in this wide-ranging collection that focuses on poetry from the four largest groups in the United States: Mexican Americans, Cuban Americans, Puerto Ricans and Dominican Americans.Included are distinguished poets such as Julia Álvarez, Gloria Anzaldúa, Jimmy Santiago Baca, Martín Espada and Pedro Pietri, as well as less well-known writers who deserve more recognition. Whether writing about timeless issues or themes specific to their community, the poets in this volume craft a multilayered look at what it means to be Latino in the United States. Looking Out, Looking In is an indispensable and welcome addition to American and Latino literatures.
Best 'New' African Poets 2015 Anthology by R. Mwanaka
ISBN: 9789956763481
Publication Date: 2016
Consisting of 214 poems and 79 poets, from over 23 African countries and the Diasporas, Best New African Poets 2015 Anthology: Poetry contains poems that deal with a panoply of issues, feelings, thoughts, ideas, beliefs, on identity, Africanness (Blackness, Whiteness, Arabic, Asian), culture, heritage, place, politics, (mis)governance, corruption, exile, loss, memory, spirituality, sex, gender, love, the individual and many others.
Leaves of Grass by Walt Whitman
ISBN: 9781467792806
Publication Date: 2015-08-01
In Leaves of Grass, American poet Walt Whitman assembled most of his poetic works. Included in this collection are some of Whitman's most famous poems, including "Song of Myself," "I Sing the Body Electric," "Out of the Cradle Endlessly Rocking," and "O Captain! My Captain!" The first edition of Leaves of Grass was published in 1855 and contained only twelve poems. Whitman kept revising his collection throughout his life; the final edition contains more than three hundred poems. This is an unabridged version of the poems from the final edition of Whitman's celebrated collection, published shortly before his death in 1892.
The American Voice Anthology of Poetry by Frederick Smock (Editor)
ISBN: 9780813120973
Publication Date: 1998-09-17
Writings from its pages have been regularly reprinted in prize annuals such as The Pushcart Prize, Best American Poetry, and Best American Essays. This fifteenth anniversary anthology collects eighty poems from some of the most original and daring writers of our time.
How To Read a Japanese Poem by Steven D. Carter
ISBN: 9780231546850
Publication Date: 2019
How to Read a Japanese Poem offers a comprehensive approach to making sense of traditional Japanese poetry of all genres and periods. Steven D. Carter explains to Anglophone students the methods of composition and literary interpretation used by Japanese poets, scholars, and critics from ancient times to the present, and adds commentary that will assist the modern reader.
The Poetry of Kabbalah by Peter Cole; Aminadav Dykman (Afterword by)
ISBN: 9780300169164
Publication Date: 2012-04-10
This groundbreaking collection presents for the first time in English a substantial body of poetry that emerges directly from the sublime and often startling world of Jewish mysticism. Taking up Gershom Scholem’s call to plumb the “tremendous poetic potential” concealed in the Kabbalistic tradition, Peter Cole provides dazzling renderings of work composed on three continents over a period of some fifteen hundred years. In addition to the translations and the texts in their original languages, Cole supplies a lively and insightful introduction, along with accessible commentaries to the poems. Aminadav Dykman adds an elegant afterword that places the work in the context of world literature. As a whole, the collection brings readers into the fascinating force field of Kabbalistic verse, where the building blocks of both language and existence itself are unveiled. Excerpts from The Poetry of Kabbalah have been featured in the Paris Review, Poetry, and Conjunctions. “Studded with insight, and written with great verve, this book will become a classic.”—Lawrence Fine, author of Physician of the Soul, Healer of the Cosmos

2020/2021 Newsletter: Issue #7

header

Table of Contents

Resource Spotlight: Research Topic Starter

APPSTREAM

CONTACTING THE LIBRARY

POETRY RESOURCES