Home - BIO 141 - Environmental Biology - LibGuides at Springfield Technical Community College

Reference & Collection Development Librarian

Marko Packard

Email Me

Contact:

Building 19, 2nd Floor
Springfield Technical Community College
One Armory Square
Springfield, MA 01102

413-755-4565

Starting References for Environmental Science

Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Contextual information on hundreds of contemporary science topics and how they relate to real-world issues. Combines reference content with full-text magazine articles, journals, news articles, images, videos and even experiments.

Reader's Guide to the History of Science
A brief Encyclopedia definition of Environmental Science.
A Short Introduction to Climate Change
An introductory book on Climate Change (and Environmental Science) available from the STCC Library.
Environmental Science (Textbook)
An introductory textbook on Environmental Science.
Endangered Species (FWS)
The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service website on Endangered Species.
Endangered Species (WWF)
The World Wildlife Fund list of Endangered Species.
Soil Health (USDA)
The U.S. Department of Agriculture website on Soil Health.

Primary and Secondary Sources for Science

Primary and Secondary Sources for Science

In the Sciences, primary sources are documents that provide full description of the original research. For example, a primary source would be a journal article where scientists describe their research on the human immune system. A secondary source would be an article commenting or analyzing the scientists' research on the human immune system

	Primary Source	Secondary Source
DEFINITIONS	Original materials that have not been filtered through interpretation or evaluation by a second party.	Sources that contain commentary on or a discussion about a primary source.
TIMING OF PUBLICATION CYCLE	Primary sources tend to come first in the publication cycle.	Secondary sources tend to come second in the publication cycle.
FORMATS--depends on the kind of analysis being conducted.	Conference papers, dissertations, interviews, laboratory notebooks, patents, a study reported in a journal article, a survey reported in a journal article, and technical reports.	Review articles, magazine articles, and books
Example: Scientists studying Genetically Modified Foods.	Article in scholarly journal reporting research and methodology.	Articles analyzing and commenting on the results of original research; books doing the same

Examples of Primary and Secondary Sources

Primary Source	Secondary Source
Conference Papers Correspondence Dissertations Diaries Interviews Lab Notebooks Notes Patents Proceedings Studies or Surveys Technical Reports Theses	Criticism and Interpretation Dictionaries Directories Encyclopedias Government Policy Guide to Literature Handbooks Law and Legislation Monographs Moral and Ethical Aspects Political Aspects Public Opinion Reviews Social Policy Tables

Source: The Evolution of Scientific Information (from Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science, vol. 26). Accessed from http://library.albany.edu/infolit/prisci

A collection of Primary Documents that examines the evolution of concern about environmental degradation, pollution, and resource conservation in America from the Colonial period the present:

The Environmental Debate: A Documentary History

BIO 141 - Environmental Biology

Reference & Collection Development Librarian

About this Guide

Textbook

Starting References for Environmental Science

Primary and Secondary Sources for Science

Examples of Primary and Secondary Sources