LibGuides: Sociology: Home

Reference & Collection Development Librarian

Marko Packard

Email Me

Contact:

Building 19, 2nd Floor
Springfield Technical Community College
One Armory Square
Springfield, MA 01102

413-755-4565

Sociology

Sociology is the scientific study of human social behavior. (The Columbia Encyclopedia (7th ed.), 2017).

Recommended Databases

This is a good place to start for background information:

Gale Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
Magazine and journal articles from across a variety of disciplines.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Strong coverage of child and adolescent psychology.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text from scholarly journals and reference sources.
MasterFile Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text from general periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, and psychology
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of topics: business, economics, education, health care, humanities, law, politics, science, social science,
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Multi-source database with full text nursing and allied health journals, including psychology journals.
Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues. Users can browse by country or by subject.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of articles on today's hottest social issues.

Sociology

Reference & Collection Development Librarian

Sociology

Recommended Databases

This is a good place to start for background information:

Using Library Resources From Off Campus