Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

2021/2022 Newsletter: *NEW* Issue #4 (Spring 22)

header

STCC LIBRARY NEWS
SPRING 2022  |  ISSUE #4


Table of Contents

IN THIS ISSUE

RESOURCES ABOUT THE UKRAINE CRISIS

RESEARCH SPOTLIGHT: ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE

EBOOK HIGHLIGHTS

E-BOOK HIGHLIGHTS

RESOURCES: UKRAINE CRISIS

RESOURCES: THE UKRAINE CRISIS
By Chelsea Contrada OER & Outreach Librarian

                             A skyline view of Kyiv, Ukraine featuring St. Andrews Church in tthe middle

The ongoing conflict between Russia and Ukraine has raised many questions and navigating through available information can be overwhelming. The STCC Library has curated a list of resources that can help. Use the resources below if you are interested in understanding more about the conflict, including historical, economic, and social context.

 

Databases

Global Issues in Context
This database covers a variety of international issues and currently features a spotlight on the Russia-Ukraine conflict, which includes articles, videos, and scholarly research from a variety of perspectives.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
A wide variety of content on current and controversial topics. This database includes articles, videos, and more about the current Russia-Ukraine conflict and offers historical, economic, and political context.


Books & eBooks

Book Jacket

Historical Dictionary of Ukraine by Ivan Katchanovski, et al.

Book Jacket

Conflict in Ukraine: The Unwinding of the Post-Cold War Order (eBook)
by Rajan Menon & Eugene B. Rumer

Book Jacket

Ukraine: Society & Culture (eBook) by Calif Petaluma


Online Resources

Internet Encyclopedia of Ukraine
Hosted by the Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies

Council on Foreign Relations: Conflict in Ukraine

Center for Russian, East European, and Eurasian Studies
By Stanford University

Resources for Understanding the Conflict in Ukraine
Hosted by the Center for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies at Ohio State University

RESOURCE SPOTLIGHT: ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIERE

RESEARCH SPOTLIGHT: A GOOD STARTING POINT GETS EVEN BETTER!

By Dan Paquette, Systems and eResources Librarian

For a long time, the STCC Library offered the Academic Search Premier database as a good starting point for reliable research. When our library joined the new HELM Consortium in 2020, we gained access to a series of database upgrades, including the transition from Academic Search Premier to a higher level Academic Search Complete.

This new version maintains the easy to use interface where keyword based searches generate relevant results and helpful citation tools. Academic Search Complete offers access to several thousand more articles from academic journals and credible publications geared toward college students. An excellent starting point has gotten even better for research across many disciplines including the liberal arts, social sciences, criminal justice and the STEM fields.

As always, a friendly team of librarians are available to help in person or virtually. Stop by the Reference Desk on the second floor of Building 19, or email stcclibrary@stcc.edu to get help from one of STCC's research experts.

Access Academic Search Complete: libguides.stcc.edu/AcademicComplete

Watch a two minute video describing how to turn your research topic into keywords: https://youtu.be/k0qnqhTrsdk

Ask a librarian for help: libguides.stcc.edu/HowToVideo/Ask