Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

2020/2021 Newsletter: Issue #6

header

STCC LIBRARY NEWS

2020/2021  |  ISSUE #6


 

Table of Contents

IN THIS ISSUE

RESOURCE SPOTLIGHT: NEW LIBRARY DATABASE

EBOOK HIGHLIGHTS

TECH SUPPORT FOR LIBRARY DEVICES

REGISTERING FOR LOW-COST COURSES

eBook Highlights

HIGHLIGHTS FROM THE NEW EBSCO EBOOKS COMMUNITY COLLEGE COLLECTION

By Marko Packard, Reference & Collection Development Librarian

TECH SUPPORT

TECH SUPPORT FOR LIBRARY DEVICES

By Emily Butler, Reference Librarian

A graphic featuring a hand pointing to a computer screen surrounded by icons of a cell phone, document, textbox, gears, a cloud, and a microscope

Image by mohamed Hassan from Pixabay

You may already be aware that the STCC Library has been lending Chromebooks and Hotspots to students in need of computers and internet access. Chromebooks are different from Mac and Personal Computers because they are entirely web based, and are not designed for users to download outside softwares.

As with using any new technology, there can be a bit of a learning curve when you first start using a Chromebook. If you have questions about using a Chromebook, such as how to access WiFi, Blackboard, Zoom, and more, please visit our STCC Chromebook FAQ Knowledge Base. Using the tabs at the top of this page, you can find tutorials on getting familiar with your Chromebook or Hotspot. This is also the place to go to read about our device lending policies and discover up-to-date information about obtaining a device. Librarians will continue to add information to the Knowledge Base as we work with students and identify more frequently asked questions.

Chromebooks are a Google product, so you can find a wealth of information using Google's searchable  Chromebook Help Center. There you can find step by step instructions as well as How To videos on commonly executed tasks. If you have additional questions, please reach out to us.

RESOURCE SPOTLIGHT:

RESOURCE SPOTLIGHT: NEW DATABASES AVAILABLE NOW!
By Dan Paquette, eResources and Systems Librarian

The STCC Library is happy to announce new and upgraded databases are available for the campus community and will benefit students, staff and faculty alike.  

Library databases are searchable for published and reliable resources like academic journals, newspapers, e-books and multimedia.

Two of the new databases are upgrades to popular existing subscriptions.  Academic Search Complete is the more robust version of Academic Search Premier and is the best places to start a library search for academic content in most liberal arts subjects. 

The second upgrade is Business Source Complete upgraded from Business Source Premier, and offers material suitable for students taking business courses.  It features over 17,000 company profiles and articles from business publications.  

 A new database, Literary Reference Center by EBSCO, augments our current Literary Reference from Gale, and covers all genres and timeframes in the study of literature and writing.   

The new Social Work Reference Center will help students pursuing careers in direct care and mental health support.   

Faculty and Staff will be interested in using STCC’s new subscription to the Chronicle of Higher Education. The flagship newspaper for college and university faculty and staff is now available to access anywhere. Information on accessing can be found on our Chronicle Support Page.  

Information on the new databases can be found at the New eResource Page and it includes links to access and begin your searches!   If you need a hand with these or any library resource, don’t hesitate to reach out to a helpful librarian at stcclibrary@stcc.edu.

FREE TEXTBOOKS

FIND A COURSE WITH A FREE TEXTBOOK

By Chelsea Contrada, OER & Outreach Librarian


Image by annemazo on Pixabay

As you begin to plan your schedule for this summer and next fall, consider saving some money by registering for courses with zero textbook costs. STCC offers a selection of courses in a variety of subjects that use Open Educational Resources, or OER. OER are teaching and learning materials that can be used and shared by anyone, for free. They include articles, assignments, presentations, and even full textbooks!

OER offer students and faculty a more flexible and equitable learning experience. No need to wait for your paycheck or financial aid voucher to purchase a textbook - you'll have access from the first day of class and you won't lose access to the materials once the class has ended. Some instructors even use free homework systems - no access code required!

To see a list of ZTC courses offered at STCC, check out our OER Guide for Students. If you have questions about any of the courses, please contact the professor listed next to the course. If you have questions about OER in general, or want to get involved in the campus OER initiative, please email Chelsea Contrada, OER Librarian: cacontrada@stcc.edu.