Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
STCC LIBRARY NEWS
FALL 2020 | ISSUE #5
Table of Contents
IN THIS ISSUE
LIBRARY DEVICE RETURNS
FEATURED RESOURCE: DISCOVERY SEARCH
NEW ADDITIONS TO E-BOOK COLLECTION
HOW TO SAVE MONEY ON TEXTBOOKS
HIGHLIGHTS FROM THE NEW EBSCO EBOOKS COMMUNITY COLLEGE COLLECTION
By Marko Packard, Reference & Collection Development Librarian
Democracy and the Next American Economy: Where Prosperity Meets Justice by
Publication Date: 2019-04-30
Progressive intellectual Henry A. J. Ramos believes the United States is at a crossroads, facing the most challenging moment since the civil rights movement of the late 1960s and early 1970s. In fact, absent major new interventions and investments, he sees this moment as a pivotal turning point in the American journey in which political polarization, income and wealth disparity and public violence-much of which is race related-threaten the very essence and integrity of our democracy and economy. Ramos examines the policies that have contributed to America's decline, including those that have led to the concentration of great wealth in the hands of a few while condemning many to systemic poverty and inequality. Current economic and social trends, he stresses, are unsustainable and call for organized, concerted action by people of conscience and those affected. Ultimately, Ramos provides a roadmap for the future so the United States can continue to provide opportunities for its people and serve again as a leader in the international community. He offers case studies of organizations that have successfully created and administered programs that further equity in society, restore democratic practices, implement better urban and city planning and protect the environment. Demonstrating both the critical importance and real possibility of leveraging prosperity and justice for all Americans, this compelling work is a must-read for anyone interested in democracy, economic restoration and environmental sustainability.
An American Language : The History of Spanish in the United States by
Publication Date: 2018-04-24
"This is the most comprehensive book I've ever read about the use of Spanish in the U.S. Incredible research. Read it to understand our country. Spanish is, indeed, an American language."--Jorge Ramos An American Language is a tour de force that revolutionizes our understanding of U.S. history. It reveals the origins of Spanish as a language binding residents of the Southwest to the politics and culture of an expanding nation in the 1840s. As the West increasingly integrated into the United States over the following century, struggles over power, identity, and citizenship transformed the place of the Spanish language in the nation. An American Language is a history that reimagines what it means to be an American--with profound implications for our own time.
More Than a Mentoring Program: Attacking Institutional Racism by
Publication Date: 2018-07-01
In striving to reduce racial achievement gaps, schools and youth development programs are increasingly turning to youth mentoring programs. But how to ensure success? Here, accomplished educators Graig Meyer and George Noblit reveal how one such program challenged institutional racism and eliminated persistent achievement disparities in a local school system that boasts a national reputation for excellence. The authors share personal lessons, strategic guidance, and detailed practical advice for education and community leaders seeking to create successful youth mentoring programs. Their story, backed by research, offers real-world perspective on the important work of challenging systemic racism in schools. Meyer and Noblit demonstrate how mentoring and advocacy come together in a strengths-based program that boosts academic success and post-secondary enrollment for youth of color, while also creating change to benefit all students in a school system.
How to Understand Your Gender : A Practical Guide for Exploring Who You Are by
Publication Date: 2017-09-21
This helpful guide presents ways to help us all better understand gender, how people can change, and how people express their gender identity. Considering biological and cultural understandings of gender, gender expression, and relationships and sexuality, this is an excellent starting point for anybody thinking about what gender means to them.
Healthcare of the Future : Bridging the Information Gap by
Publication Date: 2019-04-05
Imagining the healthcare of the future is an interesting exercise, and although nobody can predict precisely what systems might operate in ten year's time, the possibilities which already exist can give us a clue as to how healthcare may be managed by 2030.This book presents papers from the conference Healthcare of the Future, held in Biel/Bienne, Switzerland, on 5 April 2019. The conference reflects some of the results of a two year multi-stakeholder Swiss research program in medical informatics. The research program, which began in 2016, saw 25 stakeholders cooperating for an integrated cross-sectoral treatment pathway with the goal of avoiding communication gaps and information loss among the different participants within the treatment process. The principal goals were to improve and accelerate healthcare processes and empower the patient to play an active and decisive role within their own care process. The project highlighted interaction between caregivers, patients and healthcare institutions based on modern information technology. Topics covered are divided into 4 sections: workflows in healthcare; how does eHealth change the care process; knowledge based IT support; and eHealth and the informed patient, and the book also includes the keynote conference speech on improving the hospital-patient relationship with digital communication.The book will be of interest to all those involved in healthcare whose aim is to improve and accelerate healthcare processes and empower patients to play a more active and decisive role in their own care.
RESOURCE SPOTLIGHT: DISCOVERY SEARCH
RESOURCE SPOTLIGHT: DISCOVERY SEARCH
By Dan Paquette, Systems and E-Resources Librarian
Our featured resource in this issue is the Discovery Search tool. Why search one database for your topic when you can scan over eighty that are credible and librarian approved? Discovery Search finds full text academic articles and multimedia content and covers all library content, across all subjects. It is the library version of Google and is the most powerful and time saving way to find reliable research content using one or more topic keywords. Search results can be sorted by date or type of publication and this tool can also generate citations for the items found!
Last year, the STCC community searched Discovery over 30,000 times. Mirroring recent issues impacting the country, it is no surprise that gun control was the most frequently searched topic. The Discovery Search tool is found on the center of the library homepage at stcc.edu/library and is mobile friendly for searching with your devices.
When you access Discovery Search from off campus, you will need to login using your student ID number. Help with Discovery is always available from librarians via email, chat, or phone. You can also check out our YouTube page for great tutorials about using Discovery. For more info, visit: libguides.stcc.edu/searchdiscovery or email us: email@example.com
SAVE ON TEXTBOOKS
HOW TO SAVE MONEY ON TEXTBOOKS
By Chelsea Contrada, OER & Outreach Librarian
We all know that textbooks can be very expensive. But did you know there are courses you can take that offer FREE textbooks? Many STCC faculty have heard the pleas of students and are more frequently considering the cost of their required course materials. The result is a selection of courses that use open educational resources (OER). These resources are licensed in a way that allows them to be used and shared for free. They can be digital or in print, and are available for a wide variety of course subjects.
STCC’s OER options include developmental courses like Algebra 1 & 2, gen-ed courses like Statistics and English Composition 1, and even include more advanced courses in subjects like physical therapy, management, and biology. To see a full list of courses, visit libguides.stcc.edu/oer/courses-for-students. You can also learn more about open educational resources by visiting libguides.stcc.edu/oer.
If you don’t see a course listed, there may be other ways to save money on textbooks. Ask your professor if they will allow an older edition of the textbook. Older editions are often not much different from the newest edition, but they can sometimes be found in the library or purchased online at a discount. The STCC bookstore often provides rental options and used textbooks that cost less than a new copy. You can also check third-party sellers like those found on Amazon and eBay to find used copies of books at a discount.