Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fall 2020 Newsletter: Issue #3

header

STCC LIBRARY NEWS
FALL 2020  |  ISSUE #3


 

Table of Contents

IN THIS ISSUE

RESOURCE SPOTLIGHT: NURSING GUIDE

FEATURED EBOOKS

WHO SHOULD I ASK?

 

eBook Highlights

HIGHLIGHTS FROM THE NEW EBSCO EBOOKS COMMUNITY COLLEGE COLLECTION

By Marko Packard, Reference & Collection Development Librarian

Library Drop-In Hours

An advertisement for the library event called "Ask us Anything: Drop in Q&A at the Library." The image contains a speech bubble with the title of the event and the date of the next event: October 8, 2020 at 4:00 PM.

RESOURCE SPOTLIGHT: NURSING RESEARCH GUIDE

RESOURCE SPOTLIGHT: NURSING RESEARCH GUIDE
By Chelsea Contrada, OER & Outreach Librarian

The STCC Library website offers hundreds of resources to help students with research. Among these resources is a collection of research guides - pages curated to help with research for specific courses or topics. One of the most popular of these pages is the Nursing Research Guide.

The Nursing Research Guide offers a variety of resources, links, videos, and research tips for students working on projects assigned by STCC nursing faculty. For example, you'll find:

  • Short videos that show how to use the library's databases
  • Help with APA citation and formatting
  • NCLEX study resources
  • Health data and statistics
  • And much more!

To access the Nursing Research Guide, visit https://libguides.stcc.edu/nursing. If you need help using the library's resources, want some research tips, or want to offer suggestions for the nursing guide, please reach out to Chelsea Contrada, the library's health sciences liaison. Email cacontrada@stcc.edu or call (413) 755-5634 and leave a message.

Who should I contact?

WHO SHOULD I ASK?
By Chelsea Contrada, OER & Outreach Librarian

A colorful assortment of question marks.

You may have noticed that everyone at STCC is excited about helping students succeed. But sometimes, you need an answer quick and you might not be sure who to ask. Use the following information to help guide you to the right department or person.

I need to register for classes.
If you are a current student, the best place to get help with registration is your faculty advisor. If you do not know who your advisor is or you do not have one, you can contact the awesome folks at the Academic Advising and Transfer Center. They can be reached by calling 413-755-4857 or emailing advisor@stcc.edu.

If you are new to STCC, you can sign up for classes by contacting the Registrar's office. The registrar can also answer questions about course prerequisites, course schedules, and students' access to their educational records. Contact them by calling 413-755-4321 or emailing registrar@stcc.edu.

I need help buying a textbook OR I have not received a textbook I ordered.
All questions about buying or renting textbooks or previous textbook orders should be directed to the fabulous folks at the STCC Bookstore. The physical bookstore is not currently open, but you can call them at 413-755-4833. Leave a message and they will get back to you as soon as they can!

I need a Chromebook and/or a WiFi Hotspot.
The library is loaning out devices for students in need, but supplies are limited. Please contact us by emailing stcclibrary@stcc.edu. You can also chat with us on our website! Go to https://libguides.stcc.edu for more information.

I need help with research and/or citing sources for a research project.
The STCC library is your go-to spot for all research related needs. We can help you find reliable sources for your research assignments, and we can assist you with MLA, APA, or AMA citation. You can contact us by email: stcclibrary@stcc.edu; call or text: 413-200-8429; or by the chat feature on our website: https://libguides.stcc.edu.

I know which department I need, but I can't find their phone number.
The STCC website has a directory of all department phone numbers. To view the directory, please visit https://www.stcc.edu/about-stcc/office-directory/