STCC LIBRARY NEWS
FALL 2020 | ISSUE #2
IN THIS ISSUE
WELCOME BACK STUDENTS
ACCESSING LIBRARY EBOOKS
RESOURCE HIGHLIGHT: SYSTEMIC RACISM & INJUSTICE GUIDE
UPCOMING LIBRARY EVENTS
CONTACTING THE LIBRARY
NEW EBOOK COLLECTION AT THE STCC LIBRARY
By Marko Packard, Reference & Collection Development Librarian
Starting in September, the STCC Library will have access to the EBSCO eBooks Community College Subscription Collection. This multidisciplinary collection contains more than 61,500 eBooks, more than tripling the previous number of total books available, both in print and electronic. It's as if we filled all of Building 19 with books! We are excited to have this new resource, especially at this time. Expanding access to information is a core goal of libraries, and we hope that this new collection can fill unmet informational needs that will certainly arise.
The collection is curated by Collection Development librarians at EBSCO, and focuses on the academic and trade information needs of community colleges. It contains hundreds of Outstanding Academic Titles selected by the Choice academic library journal, and also has thousands of workforce development titles. New titles will also be regularly added throughout the year.
The new collection allows unlimited user access, which means more users have access to the same material at the same time.
The collection is being integrated into the STCC Library catalog, and the process remains the same to access and check out these eBooks. Go to the STCC Library's homepage (https://libguides.stcc.edu/LibraryHome) and click on the E-books, Audiobooks & Films tab. The first search box links to the STCC Library eBook Collection.
We'd love to hear how this new collection is working for you! Let us know!
See below for some recent highlights.
WAYS TO CONTACT THE LIBRARY
By Emily Butler, Reference Librarian
Need help from the library? Just ask! There are a variety of ways you can contact the library remotely, including email, phone, text, or live chat. Regardless of how you contact us, someone will respond to your query during the library's hours of operation.
If you have a question about accessing the library's databases, conducting research, or citing sources, please contact the reference department. You can call or text 413-200-8429, or email us at email@example.com. Alternatively, you can chat with us by visiting our website and clicking the "Chat Now" button. You can find more information about using the chat feature by visiting our website: https://libguides.stcc.edu, or give us a call. We will be happy to walk you through the process.
If you have a question about checking out or returning materials, or a question regarding your library account, please contact our circulation department. You can leave a voicemail for circulation by calling 413-755-4532, or by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org.
If you are unsure which department to contact, that's okay! You are welcome to email a librarian through the address email@example.com, or contact us via Chat Now, and your question will be directed to the appropriate department or individual. Thank you for adjusting to these new modes of communication. We look forward to staying connected with students and the STCC community through remote avenues.
COFFEE CHAT: TOP 10 TIPS FOR SUCCESS AT STCC
Join Us September 17th at 2:00 PM
Whether you are a new or returning student, college presents many challenges. With course loads, jobs, and families, it may seem impossible to find the time to get everything done! But we want you to work smarter, not harder, which is why the STCC Student Activities Office is hosting Coffee Chat: Top 10 Tools for Student Success at STCC.
The event will be hosted by Professor Diane Sabato and Librarian Chelsea Contrada. The hosts will provide tips and tools for success from a faculty and staff perspective. Participants will also hear suggestions from other STCC students about what has helped them to succeed. Additionally, the event will give you an opportunity to ask specific questions from two very knowledgeable STCC resources.
Please register for the event using this link: https://forms.gle/T4PFYbLXjmnKSuLt9
**The first 25 people to register will receive a FREE travel coffee mug mailed to their home!**
See below for information about our hosts!
Diane Sabato is a full-time faculty member of the Business Department at Springfield Technical Community College (STCC), where she teaches courses in Entrepreneurship, Marketing and Management. She was recognized as the Outstanding Faculty Member in 2015 and is a proud graduate of STCC. Professor Sabato is also the owner of Orange Scarf, an online and 'pop-up' business that provides a wide selection of scarves, wraps, kimonos, ponchos and vests at reasonable prices. Orange Scarf supports organizations that empower women and girls, through monthly donations and product sales.
Chelsea Contrada has been a librarian at STCC for six years. In addition to helping students with research, she also works with faculty to reduce textbook costs by promoting the use of open educational resources (OER). She began her education at Holyoke Community College and went on to earn a Master's degree in Library and Information Science. She is now studying toward her J.D. at Western New England University School of Law.
RESOURCE SPOTLIGHT: SYSTEMIC RACISM & INJUSTICE GUIDE
By Chelsea Contrada, OER & Outreach Librarian
The STCC Library is committed to keeping our users informed of current events and issues by providing reliable and accurate information from a variety of sources. With this in mind, we added a new research guide to our website this summer: Systemic Racism and Injustice.
The guide shares a variety of resources and information about the systemic racism and injustice that plagues our nation. Visitors will find suggestions for books, films, and other media that teach about these topics and lift the voices of Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC). Additionally, the guide includes information about how to help civil rights movements on a local and national level.
The resources featured on the page have been carefully curated by our reference librarians with input from our campus partners, including the STCC Office of Multicultural Affairs.
We consider the guide to be a "living" resource that we will continually update and add to. If you have suggestions for information that should be included on this guide, please send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org.