Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fall 2020 Newsletter: Issue #1

STCC LIBRARY NEWS
FALL 2020  |  ISSUE #1


 

Table of Contents

IN THIS ISSUE

CHROMEBOOK & WIFI HOTSPOTS  LOANS

WELCOME TO HELM

RESOURCE HIGHLIGHT: COMMUNITY RESOURCE GUIDE

LIBRARY SERVICES FOR STCC FACULTY

CONTACTING THE LIBRARY

WELCOME TO HELM

NEW LIBRARY PARTNERSHIP MAKES IT EASIER TO BORROW MORE
BY DAN PAQUETTE, SYSTEMS & E-RESOURCES LIBRARIAN

Over the summer, the STCC library finalized its new partnership with the HELM consortium. HELM, or Higher Education Libraries of Massachusetts, is a group of community college and other small college libraries in Massachusetts that share their resources among member schools. We documented our transition earlier this year on our website: https://libguides.stcc.edu/helm.

The biggest change is that all active students, staff, and faculty now have active library accounts automatically. Activating Ram cards manually is no longer necessary. Information about the new login procedures can be found here: https://libguides.stcc.edu/LOginSupport.

STCC students, staff, and faculty now have the exciting opportunity to browse and borrow books and media from libraries like Holyoke Community College, Quinsigamond Community College, and other college libraries in Massachusetts. Borrowable resources are geared toward the community college user and are relevant to majors found in the Commonwealth's two-year college system. HELM comprises twelve Massachusetts community college libraries, and the library at the Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts (MCLA). 

A screen shot of the library's online catalog where students can search for books. The image includes the library's homepage with the "books" tab selected. The search feature says "Search the new HELM catalog to find books and other materials available from the STCC Library and other community college libraries." Below that is a search field and a search button.

A new search box, pictured above, is easy to access in the center of the STCC Library homepage under the "Books" tab at stcc.edu/library. HEre, students can search our library's holdings and all available resources from HELM partner libraries.

To obtain a book from the STCC library, simply click "Place Hold" as pictured below.

A screenshot of search results from the STCC Library Catalog. The search results are for a book by James Baldwin called Going to Meet the Man. Links above the entry include highlight, select all, clear all, and place hold. Place Hold is circled, as it is the link you should choose to place a hold on an item.

When COVID contingencies are lifted, borrowing resources from other college libraries will be easy. Holds can be placed for any available item in the online catalog. When the campus fully reopens, items will then be delivered to STCC and can be picked up at the circulation desk in Building 19. Right now, community college libraries within HELM have limited resource exchange until the COVID emergency is closer to being resolved.

Librarians are always available to help you find the resources you need both in print and online, in our library and beyond. Email a librarian at stcclibrary@stcc.edu or check out libguides.stcc.edu/AskUs

 

undefined


 

CONTACTING THE LIBRARY

WAYS TO CONTACT THE LIBRARY
BY EMILY BUTLER, REFERENCE LIBRARIAN

Need help from the library? Just ask! There are a variety of ways you can contact the library remotely, including email, phone, text, or live chat. Regardless of how you contact us, someone will respond to your query during the library's hours of operation. 

If you have a question about accessing the library's databases, conducting research, or citing sources, please contact the reference department. You can call or text 413-342-0998, or email us at stcclibrary@stcc.edu. Alternatively, you can chat with us by visiting our website and clicking the "Chat Now" button. You can find more information about using the chat feature by visiting our website: https://libguides.stcc.edu, or give us a call. We will be happy to walk you through the process.

If you have a question about checking out or returning print materials, or a question regarding your library account, please contact our circulation department. You can leave a voicemail for circulation by calling 413-755-4532, or by emailing library_circ@stcc.edu

If you are unsure which department to contact, that's okay! You are welcome to email or chat with a librarian through the address stcclibrary@stcc.edu and your question will be directed to the appropriate department or individual. Thank you for adjusting to these new modes of communication. We look forward to staying connected with students and the STCC community through remote avenues.

 

CHROMEBOOK & WIFI HOTSPOT LOANS

CHROMEBOOKS & WIFI HOTSPOTS AVAILABLE FOR FALL LOANS
BY CHELSEA CONTRADA, OUTREACH & OER LIBRARIAN

undefined

The library is happy to announce that we will be providing in-need students with Chromebooks and WiFi Hotspots for the fall semester. We will be holding a two-week distribution event, August 31 - September 4 and September 8-11, from 9 AM to 4 PM on campus. Please read the following information carefully, as it contains details for reserving and retrieving library devices.

How do I reserve my device(s)?

Any student who wishes to reserve (a) device(s) must make an online reservation by filling out the following form: https://forms.gle/r64WiQxU9GXNUuBu9

The form requires the student's name, phone number, email, and student ID#. Students must select a day and time to pick up their device(s). For the health and safety of all, we cannot accept walk-in requests. All requests must be made using the reservation form.

How will I know if I've been approved for a device?

All students will receive a confirmation email after their form has been processed. Please be patient. Every form is processed individually and confirmation emails are individually sent by a library staff member. This takes time, but we promise you will hear from us either way. If you have not received a confirmation email, you cannot pick up a device.

When and where can I pick up my device?

Pick-up times must be reserved in advance. When making a reservation using the form linked above, you must choose an appointment window. You must pick up your device during your selected appointment window, so be sure to write it down so you don't forget! Devices can be picked up during your appointment window on campus, on the green-side of Building 13. Library staff will be there to answer questions. All visitors to campus must comply with health and safety regulations, as outlined on the campus website: https://www.stcc.edu/coronavirus/

What is a Chromebook?

A Chromebook is a simplified laptop that provides access to the internet and web-based tools like Google Drive. A Chromebook cannot run software - all its applications are stored in the cloud. Users must use Chrome and tools like Google Docs and Google Sheets to complete course work since a Chromebook cannot run Microsoft Office or other software applications. Please check with your instructor(s) to be sure that a Chromebook will meet the requirements of your course(s).

What is a WiFi Hotspot?

A WiFi hotspot is a small device that lets you access the internet using a phone, tablet, or computer. It is portable and can be used to connect to the internet anywhere you go. It works just like any other WiFi connection that you might use at home, in an office, or at school.

How long can I keep my device(s)?

Devices are available for use throughout the fall semester. All devices must be returned on a to-be-determined date at the end of the semester. Please monitor your STCC student email for updates about device returns. 

What if I need help with my device(s)?

Each device comes with instructions for use. You can also use the library's YouTube channel which contains instructional videos. If you are still having trouble, you can contact the library by calling 413-755-4549, emailing stcclibrary@stcc.edu or using the Chat function on the library website.

 

RESOURCES FOR FACULTY

LIBRARY RESOURCES FOR STCC FACULTY
BY ERIC WARREN, COORDINATOR OF REFERENCE SERVICES

STCC Library staff are eager to support faculty while we teach and learn remotely. We have many options to assist you and your students with their essays, research projects, and citation needs - here are a few things we can offer:

Customized Class Guides: No matter what course you're teaching, we can build a website where your students can find all the information they will need to complete assignments. We can include websites, streaming video, and database content, including links to individual articles you would like your students to read. These guides are accessible via laptops, tablets, and cell phones. For examples, look at our list of class guides currently available on the library website.

Instructional Videos: If you'd like to offer your students detailed, step-by-step instruction in how to use any of our resources, from databases to eBooks, check out our YouTube channel. We have dozens of short, easy to follow screencasts students can watch as often as they need. The videos can be sent to your students via hyperlink or can be embedded in Blackboard courses.

Custom Resource Lists: We can create curated content lists to help your students complete their research assignments more effectively. We can include sources for background information, suggested search terms and links to the most relevant content for their topic.  We can also provide a pre-selected list of highly relevant research articles. Students can select a topic from a choice of options and access links to full-text articles on that topic. This approach is targeted, manageable and will ensure your students use appropriate resources for their assignment. 

As always, we're available for consultation on assignments and we can provide information literacy support via email, phone, or chat. Just visit our website at https://libguides.stcc.edu for all our contact information. You can also find additional information on our faculty support page. We look forward to working with you this fall and in semesters to come!

 

RESOURCE SPOTLIGHT: COMMUNITY RESOURCES GUIDE

RESOURCE SPOTLIGHT: COMMUNITY RESOURCES GUIDE
BY DOT MOORE, REFERENCE LIBRARIAN

The Community Resources Guide is one of the library's most popular guides. It contains current information on a wide variety of resources to help students and community members overcome challenging issues and unmet needs. The guide is divided into 17 categories including Housing, Job Search, Legal Aid, and Mental Health  Each of these categories lists resources from over 200 local and state agencies, service providers, websites and hotlines. There is also a special section for coping with the COVID-19 crisis.

You can find the Community Resources Guide at https://libguides.stcc.edu/community_resources. A booklet version, created in conjunction with the Center for Access Services, can be found at https://libbguides.stcc.edu/resources. It offers a more detailed listing of campus services for students and selected community resources, which you can print or download. If you have any questions or comments about this guide, please contact Dot Moore (dwmoore@stcc.edu).