How to Use the Catalog
Use the catalog to find items in this and other C/W MARS libraries. You can search our catalog:
- by an AUTHOR'S NAME, putting in the last name first, as in Pollan, Michael;
- by the TITLE of an item, as in In Defense of Food: An Eater's Manifesto;
- by the assigned SUBJECT of an item, if you know it, for example, "Food habits," or
- by KEYWORD. Keywords are essential words that you want to see in an item, for example, "food". Try to think of alternative ways to get at your subject, for example, using "eating" or "diet" as alternative keywords. You may wish to start with a keyword search, choose some relevant results, and then search using the subject headings for a relevant item.
The STCC library has tens of thousands of items, but if you don't find what you need or want, your catalog can be expanded to search other libraries with whom we have borrowing privileges, by dropping down the box where STCC appears. You will see is a list of all the libraries in Western Massachusetts that are members of C/W MARS and that you can borrow from online. You can search the collection of an individual library by clicking on that library, you can search all Western Massachusetts libraries that are members of C/W MARS.
Reference books on Food and Nutrition
Use reference books for:
- A quick introduction to your subject;
- In-depth background on some of the major elements of your topic;
- Vocabulary to use for searches in other resources;
- Bibliographies that can give you ideas for other resources;
In addition to the print books listed below, you may access electronic reference books through the CREDO Reference database. (Off-Campus) There is a drop down arrow to the right of the words "All Subjects" which you can use to limit your search to books in a certain category, like "Food and Beverage" or Medicine.
- Encyclopedia of food and culture - Solomon H. Katz
Call Number: GT2850.E53 2003
The encyclopedia discusses food in its relation to society. The 600 articles, arranged alphabetically, includes scientific, historic, and anthropologic topics. It aims to be "an authoritative survey of the history, production, preparation, science and culture of food from prehistory to the present day." - Encyclopedia of human nutrition - Michele Sadler
Call Number: QP141 .E526 1999
The alphabetical entries cover the scientific, political, and social aspects of nutrition. Among the subjects included are individual nutrients and foods, anatomy and physiology and nutritional therapy for diseases and conditions. - Nutrition and well-being A to Z - Delores C.S. James
Call Number: RA784.N838 2004
Topics covered include dietary habits, eating diseases and disorders, health risks and food safety, the eating habits of various ethnic groups, weight loss issues as well as professional matters, and health programs and organizations. - The health nutrient bible : the complete encyclopedia of food as medicine - Lynn Sonberg
Call Number: RA784.S648 1995
Discusses the role of nutrition in alleviating or preventing illnesses and lists more than eight thousand brand and basic foods, covering calories, protein, fat, fiber, vitamins, and minerals. - Encyclopedia of diet fads - Marjolijn Bijlefeld and Sharon K. Zoumbaris
Call Number: RM222.2.B535 2003
Provides information about diet and nutrition, describing a variety of popular diets, current trends, and new developments in fitness and nutrition. - The concise encyclopedia of foods & nutrition - Audrey H. Ensminger
Call Number: TX349.F573 1995 - Encyclopedia of junk food and fast food - Andrew F. Smith
Call Number: TX370.S63 2006
Essays cover the history of junk foods and convenience foods, along with information on health, diet, and current controversies surrounding the consumption of this type of food.
Librarian Profile |
Springfield Technical Community College Library
One Armory Square
PO Box 9000, Suite 1
Springfield, MA 01102-9000
(413) 755-4549
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait