The guide includes information on finding legal materials on the Web and by using STCC library resources. There are tabs for locating different types of resources (such as cases and statutes) and tabs that describe resources in different areas of the law.
For further help, please contact the library's Reference Department. You may:
* Call us at (413) 755-4549 during library hours, or come in to the Library in Building 27 of the STCC campus.
* Ask a librarian by e-mail. Please include your name and e-mail address so we can back to you as quickly as possible. Our goal is to respond within 48 hours.
These libraries offer more extensive legal resources than it is possible for the STCC library to provide.
- Massachusetts Trial Court Law Libraries
Members of the public with photo ID are entitled to apply for a Trial Court Law Libraries Card, which allows one to borrow books or access online databases. There are seventeen branches throughout Massachusetts, including the Hampden branch in the courthouse at 50 State Street in Springfield.
- Western New England School of Law Library
Students at other institutions may access the Law Library upon presenting ID, and access is provided to government documents in the Federal Depository Collection. In addition, other members of the public who wish to use the Law Library resources may contact the library at 413-782-1616 to arrange access.
This guide includes information on finding legal materials on the Web and by using STCC library resources. There are tabs for locating different types of resources (such as cases and statutes) and there are also tabs that describe resources in different areas of the law such as divorce, bankrupty and criminal law. Both federal and Massachusetts state law materials are included.
- Guide to Law Online
Law Library of Congress annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information.
- Guide to Free & Low Cost Legal Research
The first part of this guide provides an overview and links to different types of free materials and the second part summarizes the features and costs of less expensive databases.
- Legal Information Institute
Cornell's LII has federal and state case law, statutes, and regulations, along with law by topic.
- GPO Access
Access to official versions of primary law from all three branches of government.
- FDsys (Federal Digital System)
GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) is an advanced digital system that will enable GPO to manage Government information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. GPO Access is migrating its various collections to the FDsys.
- Public Library of the Law
Access to federal and state cases, statutes, and regulations.
The day's top legal stories.
Springfield Technical Community College Library
One Armory Square
PO Box 9000, Suite 1
Springfield, MA 01102-9000
(413) 755-4549Send Email
Massachusetts legal aid programs put together this website to help individuals find practical information about their legal rights. Areas of the law covered include children and families, domestic violence, employment and unemployment, income and benefits, and housing.
- Massachusetts Law About...
From the Massachusetts Trial Court Law Libraries, an A-Z list of legal topics, with links to statutes, regulations, court cases and other resources on that topic.