Web sites on marketing and advertising
- Ad Age Advertising Century A project launched by Advertising Age in 1999 to chronicle the history of the twentieth century's advertising industry,which was when the advertising business came of age as a core economic and
cultural force that shaped much of our daily life as well as the identity of our society. - Advertising World A browsable and searchable directory, arranged topically, of briefly annotated links for advertising and marketing professionals, students, and teachers. From the University of Texas at Austin, Department of Advertising.
Web sites on retailing
- Monthly & Annual Retail Trade: U.S. Census Bureau This site provides "current estimates of sales at retail and food services stores and inventories held by retail stores" in the United States. Reports "are released approximately 6 weeks after the close of the reference month. They contain preliminary figures for the current month and final figures for the prior 12 months." Includes data back to 1992.
- National Retail Federation This group is the world's largest retail trade association, with membership that includes department, specialty, discount, catalog and Internet stores. Its site provides a list of advocacy efforts, resources to address issues facing the retail industry after September 11, 2001, retail industry news and a list of top retailers throughout the world. Some material only available to members.
Web sites on small business
- Small Business Administration The website of the United States Small Business Administration contains tools to help people start, manage and expand small businesses. It includes online training on topics such as developing a business plan, marketing and finding start-up funding.
- Business.gov - Official Business Link to the U.S. Government The Small Business Administration has partnered with 21 other federal agencies to create a "one-stop shop" for compliance documents and other business resources providing access to business laws, government regulations, forms and agency contacts.
- Center for Business Planning "The Center for Business Planning provides any business manager or entrepreneur with a set of resources to help in creating a business or managing a business. Information is provided on every area of planning a business including: acquire venture capital, define new products, market analysis, competitive analysis, production management, tax problems, legal issues, prepare financial statements, write a business plan and much more." Includes library of business plans, and links to other resources.
- How-To : Starting a Business From Inc.com, which aims to deliver "advice, tools, and services, to help business owners and CEOs start, run, and grow their businesses more successfully". It includes business plan tips and information on how to write a business plan.
- Inc.com - Small Business Information for the Entrepreneur This site includes information and advice covering many business and management tasks, including marketing, sales, finding capital and managing people.
- SCORE "Counselors to America's Small Business" SCORE "Counselors to America's Small Business" is a source of free and confidential small business advice for entrepreneurs.
- Startupnation StartupNation is a free service founded by entrepreneurs for entrepreneurs.
- The Economic Development Council of Western Massachusetts The EDC is a private, non profit corporation that is leading the region's economic development by helping businesses to expand, relocate and succeed in Western Massachusetts.
- Entrepreneur.com Online version of this small-business magazine, with feature articles, online tools, and advice from experts
Other Web sites can be found from the following page: - Internet Public Library - Resources for Small Business & Entrepreneurship
Key Sources for U. S. Statistics
While the following Web sites have extensive statistical and demographic information, if you would like to find additional Web sites with statistics about particular topics you can look at this Research Guide from the University of St. Thomas which lists sources for statistical data, grouped by subject. In addition, the STCC library has listed Web sites for statistics in its Delicious social bookmarking account.
If you want to search a number of Web sites which contain statistics all at once, you can use this search box:
- American Factfinder This site is the Census Bureau's major access point for resources and statistics. One can retrieve data by geographic area, by topic, or by creating "data sets" of customized statistical tables.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics: Economy at at Glance The site provides economic data on a national level and by region, state and many metropolitan areas.
- Census Bureau Home Page This is the place to go for quick access to U.S. demographic information. There is information in the categories of people and households, business and industry, and geography.
- FedStats FedStats provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic.
- The 2009 Statistical Abstract The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
Other useful Web sites for entrepreneurship and marketing
- Advertising Standards Canada
- American Customer Satisfaction Index
- Annual Reports Service
- Company Information from Hoover's including business reports and profiles
- Free NAICS & SIC Code Lookup
- Global Edge
- Global Memory Net
- House Committee on Small Business
- Marketing Power - American Marketing Association
- MyBestSegments - Detailed Customer Segmentation Profiling
- NFIB - National Federation of Independent Business
- Operational Services Division
- Population Profile of the United States
- The Economist
- ThomasNet
- U.S. Commercial Service : Your Global Business Partner
And consider credibility...
What's the Problem?
Good General Tools
Web sites for local demographic information
Local informtion here - see other boxes for links for nationwide and international research.
- Hampden County, Massachusetts: Quick Links from the US Census Bureau Includes demographic, social, economic and housing information.
- City of Springfield, Massachusetts Quick Links (U.S. Census Bureau) Includes demographic, social, economic and housing information.
- Pioneer Valley Planning Commisssion: Data and Statistics Includes information on each of the forty three communities in the Pioneer Valley including housing prices, recreation areas, household income and population by age, as well as regional trends and link to Economic Development Data & Information database.
Other Local Information
- Affiliated Chambers of Commerce of Greater Springfield - Welcome
- Amherst, MA Area Chamber of Commerce
- Chicopee Chamber - Home page
- Commonwealth Corporation: Workforce Consulting, Research, Evaluation, and Training
- Federal Reserve Bank of Boston Home Page
- Franklin County Chamber of Commerce
- Greater Easthampton Chamber of Commerce: Easthampton Westhampton Southampton MA
- Greater Holyoke Chamber of Commerce
- Greater Northampton Chamber of Commerce, Northampton, MA
- Mass.Gov
- Massachusetts Technology Collaborative
- Operational Services Division
- Regional Technology Corporation
- The Hartford-Springfield Economic Partnership
- Town of East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
- UMass Amherst: Massachusetts Small Business Development Center Network | MSBDC
- Western Mass EDC Home
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait