Reference Sources
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Early Childhood Education 

This guide will help you find resources related to early learning and childcare.
Last update: Oct 26th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.stcc.edu/early_childhood_education  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Citing Sources             Print Page
  
 

Why cite sources?

JUST CHECKING!

When writing research papers students are often required to create a "resources used" page, or a "bibliography," or a "list of works cited." This side bar discusses what the underlying reasons are for these requirements and what some of these terms mean.

Including a list of works cited in your research paper enables anyone reading your paper to go back and check what you claim as a source for your various research points. It provides a list of resources for others to use if they found your paper interesting or useful. And it provides a means for you to give credit to authors for their ideas and work, to show clearly that you are giving credit where credit is due. This is important of course to avoid charges of plagiarism.

There are several styles used for citing sources, but the two main styles used at STCC are the Modern Language Association style (MLA) and the American Psychological Association style (APA). Other syles that you might encounter in your academic career include the Chicago Style and the Bluebook style (used mainly for legal material). Typically, a citation in just about any style will include: the author(s) name(s); the title of the resource used; the year of publication; the place of publication. If you are citing a Web site, your citation additionally will typically include the url address of the Web site, and the date you viewed the Web site.

Some definitions [all from Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, 11th edition]:

Bibliography: a list of works referred to in a text or consulted by the author in the production of the work.

Citation: (not from Webster's) the elements needed to identify the source of information used. Usually included in a citation is the author's name, the title of the resource, place of publishing, and year of publishing.

Plagiarism: to steal and pass off (the ideas or words of another) as one's own without crediting the source; to commit literary theft, to present as new and original an idea or product derived from an existing source.

 

 

 

 

Resources for Citing Sources

Books:

The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation REF KF 245 .B58 2005
Concise Rules of APA Style REF BF 76.7 .C66 2005
The Elements of Style PE 1408 .S772 (2005)
Evidence Explained: Citing History Sources from Artifacts to Cyberspace REF D5 .M55 2007
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers REF LB 2369 .G53 2003

 

 

The following Web sites have useful information on how to cite your sources:

  • Anaysis of APA Style  
      
    This style guide which breaks down every element of an APA citation was created by Barbara Wurtzel of the STCC Library
  • Analysis of MLA Style  
      
    This style guide, which breaks down every element of an MLA citation, was created by Barbara Wurtzel of the STCC Library
  • APA Online Guide to Citing Electronic Sources  
      
    In addition to the print resource listed above, the American Psychology Association allows limited access to an online guide that has some information about citing electronic sources.
  • BibMe  
      
    Fully automated bibliography maker claims to be the easiest way to build a works cited page in MLA, APA or Chicago citation styles.
  • Duke University site for Citing Research Sources  
      
    Very useful site that gives you a link for how to cite sources used WITHIN your paper, as well as a link for how to assemble a list of works cited.
  • Zotero  
      
    A complete system to manage your entire research process, including a system for creating lists of works cited in different styles, like MLA or APA. (Note: Zotero only works with the Mozilla browser)
  • KnightCite Citation Service  
    A handy tool for MLA OR APA style. If you need help, ask at the reference desk!

 
 

Research Tip

KEEP TRACK OF YOUR RESOURCES!

When accumulating the resources you will use for your paper, keep track of the information you will need to cite that resource if in fact you use it in your paper. That means, write down the information typically used in a citation (see left sidebar), for example, the author(s)' name(s), complete title of the resource, publisher, date, etc. Perhaps you can make and keep copies of the first pages of the resource, whether print or electronic, for easy citation later.

The reason for this tip is that if you don't keep good records, you may end up trying to re-locate that resource. This can be a time consuming, frustrating, and ultimately unsuccessul endeavor!

 

Our Plagiarism Policy

From the STCC Student Handbook:

Academic Honesty Policy (Plagiarism)

Communication of knowledge and a free exchange of ideas, two essential aspects of a college community, require a fundamental standard of honesty. Students and faculty must be able to expect that thoughts and work presented for credit are the property of the person presenting them. To safeguard these principles, it is important to clarify the rules and procedures regarding academic honesty.

1. Academic dishonesty- Students must refrain from all forms of academic dishonesty including but not limited to:

  1. Cheating on quizzes and examinations. Cheating is to act dishonestly or fraudulently in performing assignments, tests or quizzes; or to violate established or accepted rules of behavior in performing assignments, tests or quizzes.
  2. Abetting others in cheating.
  3. Appropriating other student's work.
  4. Plagiarizing written assignments. Plagiarism occurs when the creative work of another individual is imitated or used without authorization, or when the creative work of someone else is represented as one's own work. Plagiarism includes but is not limited to:
  • Making a direct copy of another's work without appropriate citation. This includes books, articles, the work of other students, and information from the World Wide Web.
  • Paraphrasing the work of another so that the essential meaning and or progression of ideas are maintained in spite of minor changes.
  • Resubmitting one's own work as new, following previous submission for credit in another class or other context.
  • Presenting work as one's own, for example, work that was produced in conjunction with others, such as another student or a tutor, without including appropriate citation.
  • Closely imitating, without citation, the creative work of another in a creative work of artistic merit.
    • It should be made clear that the continuously expanding capabilities of electronic media represent increased opportunities for plagiarism. Students should be aware that fraudulently presented material from electronic sources (such as the World Wide Web) will be treated as seriously as that from any other source.

2. Consequences of Academic Dishonesty.

  1. Faculty who find students in violation of honesty standards shall determine the appropriate response. Punishment may include dismissal and/or failing grade in the course.
  2. Faculty will report incidents of academic dishonesty and the action taken in response to them in writing to the Dean of Student Affairs.
  3. The Dean of Student Affairs may elect to pursue further action up to and including dismissal from the College.

Students who believe themselves to be unjustly accused or punished for academic honesty violations may pursue the matter through the College grievance procedure.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait