Off-Site Database Use
To get to library databases from home or any off-campus computer with Internet access:
- Make sure you have your STCC library bar code.
- Have access to a Web connected computer with a current browser, such as Mozilla Firefox or Internet Explorer.
- On the library homepage, find the databases link on the left side.
- Click on that link.
- Select "Off Campus"
- Input your library bar code and last name in the boxes provided.
- You should get a list of databases from which to choose.
- Please note: If you haven't updated your bar code, you won't be able to get to the databases.
Databases
The following databases may be useful to you for your research about early childhood education (remember to use alternative search terms!). If you aren't certain which resource to use, contact a member of the reference staff. :
Professional Development Collection (EbscoHost). Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.
On Campus Link | Off Campus Link
ERIC (EbscoHost). ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1,282,000 records and links to more than 314,000 full-text documents from ERIC.
On Campus Link | Off Campus Link
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (Ebscohost). This database provides nearly 575 full text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
On Campus Link | Off Campus Link
Educator's Reference Complete (InfoTrac). This is a selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many reference sources. Included content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.
On Campus Link | Off Campus Link
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost).This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.
On Campus Link | Off Campus Link
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCOhost). This database provides full text for nearly 1,750 general periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, psychology and more.
On Campus Link | Off Campus Link
Expanded Academic ASAP (InfoTrac). Expanded Academic ASAP contains magazine and journal articles from a variety of disciplines.
On Campus Link | Off Campus Link
General OneFile (InfoTrac). A source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, health care, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.
On Campus Link | Off Campus Link
Issues and Controversies. Hot issues, inclduing some related to early childhood education. examined from multiple viewpoints.
What is a Database?
A database in general is a collection of information organized to be searched by computer. On the STCC Library Web site, our electronic databases are collections of articles or in-depth reports that you can retrieve through your Internet connection. The library has subscriptions to both general databases (example: EbscoHost Academic Search Premier) or subject specific databases (example, Facts on File African American History Online). These databases usually provide full-text access to journal articles. If you want to be sure to retrieve only full-text articles, meaning you will have access to the article right there on your computer rather than getting back only a citation, be sure to click on the "full-text" option on your search screen.
Typically, for research projects, students will search for what are referred to as "scholarly articles." The distinction stressed is between an article that is researched, supported by objective evidence, and sometimes "peer reviewed" (i.e, schorlarly) as opposed to an opinion piece, or a piece of light journalism (i.e., an article from People Magazine). Peer reviewed means that in order to get published in that particular journal, the article was reviewed by scholars in that field.
Our databases are purchased for the exclusive use of those on-site, or those holding current STCC library bar codes.
The databases listed to your left should be helpful for your research about early childhood education.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait