Why use?
Reference books give you:
- A quick introduction to your subject by covering a lot of points briefly;
- In-depth background on some of the major elements of your topic;
- Vocabulary to use for searches in other resources;
- Bibliographies that can give you ideas for other resources;
Early childhood reference books
The following is just a sampling of books available for in-library use. Remember we have several photocopy machines in the library that you can use to copy portions of useful reference books. Check the tab that says "Find Books & More" for resources that can be checked out.
- Early childhood education : an international encyclopedia - edited by Rebecca S. New and Moncrieff Cochran.
Call Number: LB1139.23.E272 2007 REF
This four-volume handbook discusses key historical and contemporary issues, research, theoretical perspectives, national policies, and practices. - Encyclopedia of children and childhood : in history and society - edited by Paula S. Fass.
Call Number: HQ767.84.E53 2004 REF
The articles examine the social history of children and childhood. - Encyclopedia of early childhood education - edited by Leslie R. Williams, Doris Pronin Fromberg.
Call Number: LB1139.25.E53 1992 REF
Discusses such issues related to early childhood education as the care of children from birth to age eight, policy issues, and pioneers in early childcare. - Encyclopedia of education - James W. Guthrie, editor in chief.
Call Number: LB15.E47 2003 REF
Presents more than eight hundred articles on education in the United States and the rest of the world, including such topics as elementary and higher education, organizations, teacher preparation, and educational policy. - Encyclopedia of family life - editor, Carl L. Bankston III
Call Number: HQ534 .E53 1999 REF
The 452 alphabetically arranged essays define terms, discuss controversies, and cover topics such as historical trends and events, health concerns, laws, court cases, people, and organizations. - Encyclopedia of human development - Neil J. Salkind, editor.
Call Number: HM626.E53 2006 REF
The Encyclopedia of Human Development presents research and ready-to-use facts from the fields of psychology, individual and family studies, and education. - The giant encyclopedia of preschool activities for four-year-olds - edited by Kathy Charner and Maureen Murphy.
Call Number: LB1140.35.C74.I8 2004 REF
Includes activities related to art, books, circle time, dramatic play and more. A similar encyclopedia covers activities for three year olds.
Librarian Profile |
Ruth Alcabes
Contact Info:
Springfield Technical Community College Library
One Armory Square
PO Box 9000, Suite 1
Springfield, MA 01102-9000
(413) 755-4549
Send Email
Springfield Technical Community College Library
One Armory Square
PO Box 9000, Suite 1
Springfield, MA 01102-9000
(413) 755-4549
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait