Citations
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

LIBR 100 -- Library Exploration  Tags: libr100 library_exploration  

This guide is intended for use by students in LIBR-100, Library Exploration
Last update: Mar 27th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.stcc.edu/libr100  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Schedule             Print Page
  
 

Weekly Schedule

Course Schedule

Tuesday Jan. 20

Introductions
Syllabus Review
Video Presentation: The D'Alzon Chronicles, pt. 1 & 2 plus the Greenfield Community College Library Commercial
Topic Selection
Assignment: Register for STCC Library Card/Login in to C/W MARS

The student will understand the syllabus
Thursday Jan. 22 Library Organization and Classification
Plagiarism
Intellectual Freedom: Copyright
Powerpoint Presentation: Information Ethics
Assignment: Map the Library

The student will be a registered library user

The student will understand at least three reasons for owning a library card

The student will know three different types of libraries

The student will understand three different service areas in a library

Tuesday Jan. 27 Map Review
Introduction to Reference Sources
General Reference Sources
Subject Specific Reference Sources

The student will know the location of service areas in the STCC Library

The student will understand the reasons for different shelving areas in the STCC Library

The student will know the definitions of plagiarism and copyright, and have an understanding of the ethical uses of information

Thursday Jan. 29 Evaluating Reference Sources
Topic Confirmation
Quick and Dirty LC Classification
Assignment: Reference Evaluation

The student will have a general understanding of the layout of the STCC Library

The student will understand at least five qualities of a reference book

The student will have a general knowledge of Library of Congress (LC) classification

 

Tuesday Feb. 3
Review Reference Evaluations
The Information Cycle
Bibliographic Formats

The student will understand how information is collected and consumed


The student will understand at least five differences between APA and MLA formats

Thursday Feb. 5 Quiz #1
Deconstructing a Citation
Search Strategies
Assignment: Search Strategies/Citations

The student will recognize the basic fields in a database citation, including author, title, source, volume, and issue


The student will understand the basics of Boolean Logic


The student will understand power searching techniques such as truncation and the use of quotation marks to enclose search terms

Tuesday Feb. 10 Online Catalog
Library of Congress Call Numbers
The student will understand the various access points of a library catalog

 

The student will understand the concept of a controlled vocabulary

 

The student will understand the difference between subject and keyword searching

 

The student will know the basics of catalog searching
Thursday Feb. 12 Online Catalog (con't)
WorldCat
Periodicals
Assignment: Catalog

The student will know the basics of searching WorldCat


The student will be able to use limiters and other search techniques to locate cataloged items at STCC, C/W MARS and OCLC libraries

Tuesday Feb. 17 Evaluating Periodicals
Magazines vs. Journals vs. Trade Publications

The students will understand at least five differences between journals, magazines, and trade publications


The student will know how use a database citation to retrieve a magazine or journal from the library's print collection


The student will understand the concept of peer review

Thursday Feb. 19

Quiz#2
Aggregators & Databases
General Databases

The student will have a basic understanding of what constitutes a database


The student will understand limiters such as full text, peer review/scholarly, article type, and article format

The student will know the basic retrieval options for database articles (email, print via PDF or html, and downloading)
Tuesday Feb. 24 Aggregators & Databases (con't)
Subject Specific Databases
Assignment: Evaluate a Database
Thursday Feb. 26 Database Evaluations
Exploring the Internet
Tuesday Mar. 3 Exploring the Internet (con't)
Assignment: Evaluating a Web Site
Thursday Mar. 5 Web 2.0: 'blogs, wikis, and the Interactive Web
Tuesday Mar. 10 Final Exam
Thursday Mar. 12 Bibliography Due
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait