This is the "African American
History Resources" page of the "African American History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

African American History   Tags: african_american_history, history, us_history  

Last Updated: Jun 19, 2014 URL: http://libguides.stcc.edu/africanamericanhistory Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

African American History Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

Reference Books on African American History

Use reference books for concepts, vocabulary and bibliography!

Cover Art
Africana : the Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience 2nd ed. - Kwame Anthony Appiah, Henry Louis Gates, Jr.
Call Number: DT14.A37435 2005 REF
ISBN: 0195170555
More than 4,000 articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religion, ethnic groups, organizations and countries on both sides of the Atlantic.

Cover Art
The African American Encyclopedia 2nd ed.
Call Number: E 185 .A253 2001 REF
Brief articles concerning many aspects of African American life, history and culture.

Cover Art
Chronology of African American History: From 1492 to the Present 2nd ed.
Call Number: E 185 .H64 1997 REF
Year by year descriptions of significant historical and cultural events in African American history.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of African-American Civil Rights : From Emancipation to the Present - Charles D. Lowery and John F. Marszalek
Call Number: E 185.61 .E54 1992
This encyclopedia covers a wide array of events, legislation, court decisions, cultural achievements, speeches, organizations, and personalities that have contributed to the cause of African-American civil rights.

Cover Art
African American Lives - Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham.
Call Number: E 185.96 .A446 2004 REF
Features portraits of some six hundred noteworthy African Americans representing a wide variety of fields of endeavor. Subjects of biographies include slaves and abolitionists, writers, politicians, artists, business leaders, musicians, performers, athletes, journalists, and other historical figures.

Cover Art
African-American Atlas : Black History and Culture-An Illustrated Reference - Molefi K. Asante and Mark T. Mattson
Call Number: E185 .A79 1998 REF
Presents a history from African origins to the social and economic realities of the 20th century, and profiles key individuals

Cover Art
Atlas of African-American History - James Ciment
Call Number: E185 .C55 2001 REF
Text, maps, and illustrations introduce African cultures and trace African American history from the slave trade through the Civil War, emancipation, the early twentieth century, and the civil rights movement to the present.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History - Jack Salzman, David Lionel Smith, Cornel West
Call Number: E185 .E54 1996 REF
Produced by the Center for American Culture Studies at Columbia University, this set attempts to cover "all aspects of the African-American experience." Two-thirds of the entries are biographies, with the remainder dealing with events, historical eras, cultural achievements, and places.

Cover Art
The New York Public Library African American Desk Reference
Call Number: E185 .N57 1999 REF
Presents a timeline of African-American history and identifies important people and events.

 

What is the Catalog?

Your catalog provides access to the STCC library's collection of:

  • books,
  • audiovisual materials (cds, dvds, vhs, etc.)
  • reference books, and
  • e-materials.

Additionally, we are able to borrow material from over 100 libraries through the C/W MARS (Central/Western Massachusetts Automated Resource Sharing) system. This means that if we don't have an item you want, check other libraries (see instructions in left side bar) and the item will be shipped here within approximately 4 business days, no charge to you!

You can use the box below to do a simple keyword search in the STCC catalog (see left sidebar):

Search the Catalog Advanced Search
Searchfor in

 

Sign into your account here

 

Harriet Jacobs on Youtube

 

Video: Save our History - Voices of Civil Rights

Patrons of the STCC library now have access to Films on Demand (on campus | off campus), a database of streaming videos that includes hundreds of educational films in dozens of academic disciplines, including many related to art, architecture and photography.

Just one of the many videos in the collection is Save our History: Voices of Civil Rights, an archive of oral histories of the Civil Rights Movement. The video can be accessed from the STCC campus without logging in, but in order to access the video from off campus, you must have first created an account in Films on Demand, and then log in below using your user ID or email and your password.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip