This is the "Home" page of the "Biology 106 & 206 Prof. Burt" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biology 106 & 206 Prof. Burt   Tags: biology, biology_106, prof._burt  

This guide will help you complete the assignment for Biology 106 and 206. Please feel free to ask librarians for help as you work on this project.
Last Updated: Apr 22, 2013 URL: http://libguides.stcc.edu/biology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask a Librarian

For further help, please contact the library's Reference Department. You may:

* Call us at (413) 755-4549 during library hours, or come in to the Library in Building 27 of the STCC campus.

* Ask a librarian by e-mail. Please include your name and e-mail address so we can back to you as quickly as possible. Our goal is to respond within 48 hours.

 


 

ScienceDaily.com

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Please tell us if this helped.





 

Welcome

This guide is designed to help you use the library effectively. 

1. Find an article in an appropriate periodical through a library database.

    Each class has its own list of topics. Make sure you explore the topics assigned to YOUR class.

2. Complete your library research activity. You will be reviewing and commenting on your article.

3. Become familiar with STCC Library resources.

Please feel free to call on me if you have questions or need help.

 

Assignment

                    

Springfield Technical Community College                                Library
Reference Department                                                            http://library.stcc.edu

BIOLOGY ASSIGNMENT 106 / 206
(Students in 206 should ALSO answer the questions in italics.)

 

  • Students will use the exercise in order to analyze the articles they select.
  • Students will use a library database in order to find an article  on a topic from this list.
  • Students will use 'AND' in searching databases in order to limit results in a database.
  • Students will use create and criteria  in order to select an appropriate article.


Use a library database to find articles on one of the topics from this list: 

  • Biology AND Bats
  • Biology AND Sharks
  • Biology AND Insects
  • Biology AND Sea Turtles
  • Biology AND Snakes
  • Biology AND Alligators

From the articles you find, select one, read it, and report back to the class. Include these elements in your report:

  1. Which database did you use?     
  2. When you first looked for articles on this topic, how many articles did you find?
  3. List two reasons why you decided to read this article.

PLEASE PROVIDE THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION:

  1. Author  name(s)
  2. Institution where ONE researcher works.  (Or where one author is located).
  3. Article title
  4. Journal name
  5. Issue date, issue number (if any) and volume number
  6. Pages on which the article appears.
  7. Database you used
  8. Date you visited the database.

Answer these questions:

1)     What topic(s) did the article discuss?   Provide the hypothesis.    

2)      Did it succeed in answering the questions it raised? 

3)      Give an example of a term or idea that was new to you. 

4)      What surprised you about the article? 

5)     Can you identify the audience / audiences for this article?  Give a few reasons why you think the article was written for that group or  
  groups.  (Examine the level of the vocabulary, the kinds of images provided, the organization responsible for the publication and the
  inclusion (or lack) of information on the author(s), as clues that will help you decide.)

Scientists or Professors

High School students

College Students

The General Public

Biology 206 students should also answer:

6)   Did names or dates in the article appear in parentheses? Example: Lions really like yellow (Smith, 1999). Do you know what the information in parentheses means?

7)   Is there a bibliography/works cited or reference list?

a)      If yes, what kinds of items appeared? (Examples: books, journal articles, web sites)  

b)      If no, why do you think there wasn't one?

8)   Were there illustrations (such as charts, graphs, photographs, etc.?)

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Barbara Wurtzel
Contact Info
Library Building 27 First Floor
413 755 4816 (office)
413 755 4549 (reference desk)
Send Email
 

Topics for Bioloogy 206

Students in Biology 206 can select a topic from this list: 

  • Taxonomy
  • Ecology
  • Evolution
  • Reproduction
  • Feeding strategies
  • Molecular biology
  • Genetics
  • Behavior
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip