This is the "Home" page of the "Communities" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Communities   Tags: communities  

Information on sources to research different kinds of communities including families, neighborhoods and ethnic, social, religious and cultural groups.
Last Updated: Apr 22, 2013 URL: http://libguides.stcc.edu/communities Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask a Librarian

For further help, please contact the library's Reference Department. You may:

* Call us at (413) 755-4549 during library hours, or come in to the Library in Building 27 of the STCC campus.

* Ask a librarian by e-mail. Please include your name and e-mail address so we can back to you as quickly as possible. Our goal is to respond within 48 hours.

 


 

Welcome

This guide will help you find information on sources to research different kinds of communities including families, neighborhoods and ethnic, social, religious and cultural groups. These communities can be local, national or global. If you can't find items easily, PLEASE check with a reference librarian. We are here to help you.

 

Reference Books on Communities

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of American Folklife
Call Number: GR105.E53 2006 REF
This encyclopedia contains essays on topics in American folklife as diverse as Croatian communities, fans of automobile racing, the Internet, Little Havana, men and masculinity, fans of heavy metal, polka, snake-handling sects, Wiccans, and zydeco. There are also articles on groups such as bikers, Dominican communities, Jewish communities, Muslims, skateboarders, and students.

Cover Art
Racial and Ethnic Relations in America
Call Number: E49.R33 2000
This encyclopedia provides information about the background and history of racial and ethnic relations in the U.S. and Canada.

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of New England: The Culture and History of an American Region
Call Number: F4.E53 2005 REF
Entries arranged alphabetically within chapters grouped by theme provide information regarding New England, including discussions of architecture, ethnic and racial identity, history, and religion.

Cover Art
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Call Number: GN333.W67 1998 REF
This work focuses on the traditions, living conditions, food, language, religions, and recreation of over 500 of the world's major culture groups. There is one volume on the Americas, which includes different communities within the United States.

Librarian Profile

Ruth Alcabes
Contact Info
Springfield Technical Community College Library
One Armory Square
PO Box 9000, Suite 1
Springfield, MA 01102-9000
(413) 755-4549
Send Email
 

How did we do?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip