Specialized Sites
- Western Massachusetts Community College Consortium - Health Programs
This site helps you explore career options in allied health. It includes a list of all health programs in the region, an "Exploring" section, and links to potential health care employers. - Diversity / Careers in Engineering and Information Technology
Articles cover career issues for experienced and new-grad engineers and information technology professionals in the diverse technical workforce. All articles feature technical pros who are members of minority groups, women or people with disabilities. - STCC Counseling Center's links to sites on specific careers
This page has links to web sites related to fields ranging from aerospace and audiology to urban planning and veterinary medicine. Many of the links are to sites of professional associations, which represent the interests of people in that occupation.
Subject Directories
Internet subject directories offer a collection of links to Internet resources submitted by site creators or evaluators and organized into subject categories. Some directories are created in order to help users find high quality sites of interest and are selective in the sites they include.
- Librarians' Internet Index Librarians' Internet Index (LII) is a publicly-funded website which indexes websites that are selected for quality, described, and organized by a team of librarians.
- Intute Intute is a directory of web resources for education and research., all of which have been evaluated and selected by subject specialists.
- Infomine INFOMINE is a virtual library of Internet resources relevant to faculty, students, and research staff at the university level. It covers resources related to natural sciences, social sciences, humanities, business and the arts.
Career Counseling at STCC
The STCC Counseling Center (located on the 2nd floor of Building 27) offers career guidance through all phases of the career exploration and planning process, including offering free assessment inventories to all STCC students. The Career Counseling section of the Counseling Center's web site describes the services they offer. Their web site also offers a collection of links to sites to explore a variety of different careers. In addition, the Counseling Center has provided a list of sites to explore specific career fields.
General Career Web Sites
- FutureWorks Career Center Located in the STCC Technology Park, FutureWorks provides resources to help you find employment. FutureWorks serves as one of 37 One Stop Career Centers in Massachusetts. The Center supplies access to computers, faxes, and copiers and conducts training.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook
Use the U.S. Department of Labor's Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) to find out more about hundreds of types of jobs. Information includes the nature of the work, working conditions, employment outlook, required training, wages and more. - MassCIS (Massachusetts Career Information System)
Designed by the Massachusetts Department of Employment and Training, this site provides links to information about hundreds of occupations. This site also provides assessments of preferred skills, interests values, then ties results to career options. - Career One Stop
The site has sections on researching occupations and industries, wage and salary information, education and training, planning and conducting a job search, and a section on resumes and interviews. - Monster Career Advice
Includes resume and job hunting advice, information for those "on the job", and resources for different job categories. - O*NET OnLine
The O*NET (Occupational Information Network) database includes information on skills, abilities, knowledge, work activities, and interests associated with occupations. - The Riley Guide
Internet Resource with links to information for all phases of the job search, including self-assessment tools, general job search strategies, resume and cover letter resources and job position listings. - WetFeet
WetFeet provides profiles of companies, careers, and industries aimed to guide job seekers toward finding the right career, the right industry, the right company, and the right job for them. - Career Voyages - Good Jobs, Better Pay, Brighter Future - HOME Designed to provide up to date career information.
Web sites on small business
- Small Business Administration The website of the United States Small Business Administration contains tools to help people start, manage and expand small businesses. It includes online training on topics such as developing a business plan, marketing and finding start-up funding.
- Business.gov - Official Business Link to the U.S. Government The Small Business Administration has partnered with 21 other federal agencies to create a "one-stop shop" for compliance documents and other business resources providing access to business laws, government regulations, forms and agency contacts.
- Center for Business Planning "The Center for Business Planning provides any business manager or entrepreneur with a set of resources to help in creating a business or managing a business. Information is provided on every area of planning a business including: acquire venture capital, define new products, market analysis, competitive analysis, production management, tax problems, legal issues, prepare financial statements, write a business plan and much more." Includes library of business plans, and links to other resources.
- How-To : Starting a Business From Inc.com, which aims to deliver "advice, tools, and services, to help business owners and CEOs start, run, and grow their businesses more successfully". It includes business plan tips and information on how to write a business plan.
- Inc.com - Small Business Information for the Entrepreneur This site includes information and advice covering many business and management tasks, including marketing, sales, finding capital and managing people.
- SCORE "Counselors to America's Small Business" SCORE "Counselors to America's Small Business" is a source of free and confidential small business advice for entrepreneurs.
- Startupnation StartupNation is a free service founded by entrepreneurs for entrepreneurs.
- The Economic Development Council of Western Massachusetts The EDC is a private, non profit corporation that is leading the region's economic development by helping businesses to expand, relocate and succeed in Western Massachusetts.
- Entrepreneur.com Online version of this small-business magazine, with feature articles, online tools, and advice from experts
Other Web sites can be found from the following page: - Internet Public Library - Resources for Small Business & Entrepreneurship
Diversity in Employment
- The Riley Guide: "Resources for Women, Minorities, and Other Audiences" Their are links to Web sites which "address the needs or meet the interests" of older workers, women, Indigenous/Native populations, African Americans, Asian Americans, Gay/Lesbian people and Hispanic/Latinos.
- The Black Collegian Online Launched in 1970, THE BLACK COLLEGIAN is a career and self development magazine targeted to African-American students and other students of color seeking information on careers, job opportunities, graduate/professional school, internships/co-ops, study abroad programs, etc.
- GettingHired.com A site to connect people with disabilities seeking employment, employers committed to hiring people with disabilities, service providers, college disability and career services departments, and disability advocacy groups.
- Sexual Orientation and Career Decision Making An article from Lawrence University's Career Center.
Lists of companies: - Black Enterprise: Best Companies for Diversity An annual list, based on a survey sent to the thousand largest publicly traded companies. The survey focused on activities related to the participation of African Americans and members of other ethnic minority groups.
- DiversityInc A leading publication on on diversity and business. They publish a list of top 50 companies for diversity, other lists,and other resources.
- Human Rights Campaign: Corporate Equality Index The annual report provides an in-depth analysis and rating of large U.S. employers and their policies and practices pertinent to lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender employees.
- Working Mother: 20 Best Companies for Multicultural Women These companies were noted as "placing diversity and inclusion firmly at the top of their workplace agenda", supporting "multicultural employees and the programs that help them thrive".
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait