Off-Site Use of Databases
To get to library databases from home:
- Make sure you have your STCC library bar code.
- Have access to a Web connected computer with a current browser, such as Mozilla Firefox or Internet Explorer.
- On the library homepage, find the databases link on the left side.
- Click on that link.
- Select "Off Campus"
- Input your library bar code and last name in the boxes provided.
- You should get a list of databases from which to choose.
- Please note: If you haven't updated your bar code, you won't be able to get to the databases.
Databases
The following databases may be useful to you for your research in the area of business ethics (remember to use alternative search terms!):
American National Biography. Use this database to get information about the life and accomplishments of business leaders. Two requirements for this database: the individual must be "american" and also must be deceased.
On Campus Link | Off Campus Link
InfoTrac: Biography Resource Center. Use this database to get information about the life and accomplishments of business leaders.
On Campus Link | Off Campus Link
Ebsco Host: Business Search Premier. Find full-text articles from hundreds of publications such as Business Week, Money, Business Ethics Quarterly, Ethics of Competition, to name just a few.
On Campus Link | Off Campus Link
Issues and Controversies. Use this database to find lengthy reports on current topics such as "whistle blowers," "white collar crime," "corporate social responsibility," to suggest a few.
On Campus Link | Off Campus Link
LexisNexis Academic. Note when using this database, you must choose "business" from the top menu bar. Once in the business module, you can create company profiles, compare companies, check SEC filings, find SIC Codes. Check out the tutorials on how to determine the parent for a company, and how to download financial information to a spreadsheet. Remember too that LexisNexis also has a "news" module, and this can be a useful source of business research as well.
What is a Database?
A database in general is a collection of information organized to be searched by computer. On the STCC Library Web site, our electronic databases are collections of articles or in-depth reports that you can retrieve through your Internet connection. The library has subscriptions to both general databases (example: EbscoHost Academic Search Premier) or subject specific databases (example, Facts on File African American History Online). These databases usually provide full-text access to journal articles. If you want to be sure to retrieve only full-text articles, meaning you will have access to the article right there on your computer rather than getting back only a citation, be sure to click on the "full-text" option on your search screen.
Typically, for research projects, students will search for what are referred to as "scholarly articles." The distinction stressed is between an article that is researched, supported by objective evidence, and sometimes "peer reviewed" (i.e, schorlarly) as opposed to an opinion piece, or a piece of light journalism (i.e., an article from People Magazine). Peer reviewed means that in order to get published in that particular journal, the article was reviewed by scholars in that field.
Our databases are purchased for the exclusive use of those on-site, or those holding current STCC library bar codes.
The databases listed below should be helpful for your research in the area of business ethics.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait