Open Educational Resources (OER)

Information and resources on Open Educational Resources (OER) available to faculty & students free of cost.

Open Textbooks

Anatomy & Physiology
Authors: Several, including STCC's Brandon Poe
Publisher: OpenStax - Rice University (2013)

Chemistry
Authors: Flowers, et al.
Publisher: OpenStax

Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care 
Authors: Glynda Doyle, Jodie McCutcheon
​Publisher: BC Campus (2015)

Contemporary Health Issues
Authors: Judy Baker
Publisher: Judy Baker, Ph.D., Dean of Foothill Global Access at Foothill College

Emerging Trends in Oral Health Sciences and Dentistry
Authors: Mandeep Virdi (editor)
Publisher: InTech Open

Microbiology
Authors: Parker, et al.
Publisher: OpenStax

Nursing Care at the End of Life
Authors: Susan Lowy
Publisher: OpenSUNY (2015)

Public Health Ethics: Cases Spanning the Globe
Authors: Drue H. Barrett, Angus Dawson, Leonard W. Ortmann
Publisher: Independent (2016)

The Essential Guide to the Physical Therapy Aide
Author: Erik Armstrong
Publisher: Independent (2014)

X-Ray Contrast Media
Authors: Ulrich Speck
Publisher: Springer (2018)

Open Materials Collections

DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books
A searchable collection of open access books in several subjects

Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)
A collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education.

InTech Open
Science, technology and medicine open access book publisher. Covers: physical science, engineering and technology; life sciences; health sciences; and social sciences

Johns Hopkins Bloombery School of Public Health Open Courseware Initiative
A collection of open public health courses and course materials.

Merlot Health Sciences Community Portal
A large variety of open materials organized by format and specialty.

Occupational Therapy Free Resource List
Compiled by C. Contrada at STCC Library

OER Commons
An extensive collection of open materials. Includes tools to help you build modules, lessons, and resources.

OpenStax
​Open textbooks from Rice University - includes Anatomy & Physiology, Microbiology, Chemistry, and Psychology

Open Textbook Library
Open textbooks organized by subject area; All books are either used at multiple higher education institutions or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.

Public Library of Science (PLoS)
Research and information in science and medicine.

Free Resources from the National Institutes of Health

BioMed Central
Articles from 272 peer-reviewed open access journals focusing on biomedicine.

Drug Information Portal
Quick access to quality drug information from the National Library of Medicine

MedlinePlus: Consumer Health Information
Free health information targeted at health consumers and patients

PubMed Central
Full text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal articles from the U.S. National Institute of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

**These resources offer free information that is not necessarily open access. Information from these resources may still be subject to copyright.**

STCC Library Health Sciences Resources